Buying back my childhood in $3 installments

So, I struck garage sale gold this past weekend. First, I bought a big bag full of action figures for Josiah for $3 that included a few original Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle toys as well as several vintage Star Wars figures. The Star Wars toys were from the Return of the Jedi era and included Luke, Darth Vader, Princess Leia, Boba Fett, Admiral Ackbar, an Ewok as well as a few more characters I’m not familiar with.

As if that weren’t enough, I then scored two more games to add to my classic NES collection for a measly $3. First was 10 Yard Fight, which I basically picked up out of nostalgia. It’s one of the first NES games I ever played as a kid. Although, I seem to remember it being much cooler than it was when I played it last night.

But the other game was R.C. Pro-Am! And oh yes, it’s every bit as fun to play as it was back then!

7 thoughts on “Buying back my childhood in $3 installments

  1. “For Josiah” … Yeah. OK. 🙂

    I still love playing some R.C. Pro-AM. I could play that thing all day. I’m a sucker for my old school Nintendo.

  2. I’m going to confiscate Boba Fett as a memento of my childhood. Up until a few years ago it was the only remaning figure from my childhood collection, now it seems to be missing. But the rest are his to play with.

    The video games are all for me baby.

    My vintage NES “collection” now includes Double Dribble, Excitebike, Superspike V’Ball, 10 Yard Fight, R.C. Pro-Am and a copy of Super Mario Brothers/Duck Hunt that I can’t get to work on my Famicon.

  3. We both enjoyed the NES. Nate enjoyed Zelda & TMNT. He recently picked up 2 Zelda games for the Game Cube. I still miss playing Dr. Mario.

    One podcast we enjoy listening to is Star Wars Actions News. We aren’t really Star Wars collectors but just like listening to it. One of the hosts always gets very excieted when he can find a vintage item usually on E-Bay. This guy even has a life-size Han in carbonite.

    Hope all is going well in NY. Take Care.

    Dee & Nate

  4. Buy one of these! That’s what I have.

    A $20 investment that plays all the old NES games except for Paperboy. It’s a little moody at times, but works much better than my NES system ever did in its later years. Just make sure you buy the USA version and you’ll be all set.

    There are at least three stores in Rochester that have piles of old NES games for sale. Most around the $3-$6 range. Rare and extremely popular games might go for more.

    Get a system, send me a wishlist and I’d be happy to go on a shopping spree for you.

Leave a Reply

