Our crowning achievement as parents!

About a week ago my wife and I were running some errands on a Saturday morning. We were about halfway through our “to do” list when we realized that it was already well into lunchtime. On que, our four-year-old chimed in and let us know that he was H-U-N-G-R-Y! Not wanting to go all the way back home for lunch, and working from a limited cash flow, we quickly discussed our options.

“Well, as much as I’d hate to suggest it, there is a McDonald’s right across the street,” I said. “We could always Dollar Menu it.”

“Ugh, I know,” my wife replied.

“Mommy, what’s McDonald’s?” our son asked. “Do they have food there?”

My wife and I looked at each other, beaming with pride as if our son had just won an Olympic gold medal! Our son is old enough to have developed some brand awareness. He loves all things Ninja Turtles, has favorite sports teams, and even knows that you can save 15% or more on your car insurance by switching to Geico. (He loves that darn gecko.) But to this point he has not developed one iota of brand recognition when it comes to the foremost purveyors of childhood obesity!

Now I wish we could say that he’s never eaten at McDonald’s, but we’re not super-human. However, I can boast in the fact that he’s never had soda, doesn’t like french fries and when we do have to eat there his meal generally consists of fruit and milk. And as of yet that evil clown hasn’t worked his way into his sensory recall!

Score one for the good guys!

6 thoughts on “Our crowning achievement as parents!

  1. Interesting how my wife and I’s commitment to make sure my daughter is not made a slave to our generations nutritional intake is starting to have on impact on how we eat as her parents.

    Way to go Shane!

  2. Well, it’s definitely more Cheryl’s doing than mine. I’ve been too preprogrammed by a lifetime of bad food choices to ever think outside the bun.

    But you are right. Having a little one causes you to reevaluate just about everything – including what you do/don’t put into your body.

Leave a Reply

