Finally – The Bible I’ve always wanted to read!

Several years ago I embarked on a very tedious and time consuming experiment. Wishing I could read Paul’s letters in their original form instead of the clunky chapter and verse two-column format found in most Bibles, I took it upon myself to re-create them.

I copied and pasted all of Paul’s letters into a Word document and then proceeded to remove all the chapter and verse markings. I then cleaned up the format so it read as it was originally written. It took me forever. When I was finished, I then printed it off and took it to a local print shop to have it bound.

The finished product was fantastic. It read like a dream and really opened up the passages in a way I had not previously read them. I have it on my shelf to this day and pick it up from time to time.

I later started working on the Gospels and other books of the Bible, only to give up on the project out of sheer boredom.

Well the folks at the International Bible Society have taken my “as originally written” idea and applied it to the entire Bible! They’ve called the project The Books of the Bible.

In an effort to encourage a more comprehensive reading of the Scriptures, in complete book form in particular, they have removed all chapter and verse references, presented it in a one-column format and even gotten rid of all footnotes, section headings, and cross-references. Books like Luke and Acts, which were originally one book that translators later divided into two, have been made whole again. They’ve even arranged the books in an order “that provides more help in understanding, based on literary genre, historical circumstance and theological tradition.”

In short, it’s the Bible presented in a way that’s as close to how it was originally presented as humanly possible. The main downside for me is that it is only currently available in the TNIV translation. Which isn’t the worst thing imaginable, but it’s definitely not my preference.

It’s probably extremely geekish to be frothing at the mouth over a translation of the Bible. But since I had this idea about 5 years ago, I’m pretty psyched to see it come to fruition!

Here’s a sample, the book of James.

8 thoughts on “Finally – The Bible I’ve always wanted to read!

  1. i did the gospels in college. i used the gospels comparison thing-a-ma-jig in the bible i had to have all 4 books go through christ’s life in order. it was cool. i should have saved it. i suppose i could always do it again 🙂

  2. I’ve looked at this Book/Bible also and really like the readability of the TNIV translation. I can’t imagine using this format with any other translation – can you?

  3. Revolutionfl: I’ve never been able to find an audio version where the voice talent didn’t drive me nuts. Why are they all British? 😆

    Wayne: Please tell me that guy’s “Adam did what?” post was a joke. I refuse to believe anyone is really that uptight!

    Eddard: Do what again? College or the gospels? 😆

    Mabel: I think any of the modern translations would work fine with the format. I’m actually crossing my fingers that they include other translations. But if they don’t, I’m not opposed to picking it up in TNIV.

  4. well, considering i hate the one graduate class i’m taking…yeah, perhaps thinking a little more clearly at 17 and going to a school and doing a major that would get me a friggin’ job i suppose it’d be better. but…then there’d be no butrose 🙂

Leave a Reply

