I think I shall publish a “book”…

Just saying that publicly is a bit of a step of faith, but I feel like I’m at a point where I can’t keep putting this off anymore. And maybe just saying it “out loud” is a step toward a new reality for me. Maybe it’s a way to help me build accountability into chasing my dreams. I don’t know.

I’ve received alot of encouragement from the people closest to me to pursue this avenue for quite some time. Too long probably. But for whatever reason (mostly fear) I’ve never taken seriously the possibility that maybe I should be writing for real. Blog posts are one thing. Essays another. But formulating a thesis, developing a thought and carrying it through for a couple hundred pages is a process that has always intimidated me.

But the reality is that there are no less than six to eight books floating around in my head at this very moment. Highly marketable books with edgy titles, full of sarcasm and witty observations about God and life. The kind of stuff I tend to pick up in bookstores. The stuff most of you enjoy reading as well.

But I’m not quite ready yet. I think I need to take some baby steps first…

Cheryl and I have been seriously tossing around the idea of self-publishing a book by the end of the year. I’ve got so many old sermons, essays and articles laying around that I’m thinking of publishing an anthology of sorts. I may put a new dress on a few of them, tear others down completely and rebuild them, as well as include some new material that I’ve been kicking around lately.

I have no idea what interest there would be if I did something like that. But I know that a few of the things that I’d include really are books that are just waiting to be written. I’m hoping this project will help water those seeds.

I have no idea why I’m sharing all this with you guys. Maybe I’m hoping that if I let the cat out of the bag a little bit it will make me want to take the next step or two on this project. That or I’ll be eating alot of crow in the months to come!

21 thoughts on “I think I shall publish a “book”…

  1. I think you should pursue this, Shane. Your writing clearly “clicks” with a lot of people, as evidenced by the success of your blog. And an anthology or essay collection could be the perfect place to start. You’ll learn a lot about the process of putting a book together, so there will be less anxiety about the small things when it comes time to write your first original, value-challenging, comfort-zone-evacuating, worldview-pummeling epistle.

    So if encouragement is what you seek, here’s a chunk from me: go for it!

  2. That book was fun to put together. I’ve actually been thinking of putting together a smaller and more focused volume of just essays. Something incorporating the best of the old stuff with some of the stuff that’s been written since the first book. Something I could hawk in my forthcoming Chronicle Store.

    Here’s to repackaging and selling previously free content!

  3. Shane, go for it. If there is any way I can help, let me know. I’ll proof, edit, and point out all the jokes that aren’t funny to anyone other than you. Let me know brother!

  4. No. Well, maybe over dinner.

    With 4,000+ visitors a month I don’t trust that I won’t find my title on the shelf at Barnes & Noble sometime between now and when I get around to writing it. πŸ˜†

  5. I believe that you are certainly capable of writing a good quality book. I enjoy reading your blog, I would like to read one of your books one day also.

  6. title idea-
    “Jerry Falwell, WWJD, and Other Reasons I Hate Myself for Being an Evangelical: The Shane Bertou Story.”
    -Edited by Jim Entwistle
    -Special Foreward by Dr.Larry Poston

  7. Sheesh, that could easily be the title of this blog. πŸ˜†

    I actually already have a title picked out for the collection of essays. You’ll probably be one of the few who will pick up on the fact that I’m “borrowing” it from somewhere else. That’s all I’m gonna say.

    I say β€œGo For It!” I’ve always said you are a β€œgifted” writer!

    Why do I have a feeling she’s using the word “gifted’ the way some people say “special”? πŸ˜†

  8. Hello Shane,
    I came across your blog about possibly self-publishing and I wanted to let you know that The P3 Press specializes in first-time and new authors looking to publish. Drop me a line if you’d like to talk more about it.
    Cheers,
    Cynthia

  9. Thanks Cynthia, but I’m going to go with Lulu. There’s exactly zero overhead. People can purchase the books online with no startup cost for me to absorb at all. And the books are printed on demand right here in Rochester, NY – so I get the added benefit of helping out the local economy.

    It’s a win, win, win!

  10. It’s funny that you should ask the day after I Tweeted “ShaneBertou really wants his mojo back.” And within minutes after I found myself trolling through a bunch of my old “content” on YouTube…

    I’m exactly nowhere on it. I started transcribing all my old sermons and audio blogs from audio to text. About halfway through all that I wondered if I shouldn’t just be creating new content instead.

    Then … well … I lost my mojo.

  11. The success of your new book will be a great thing, but it will pale in comparison to the kind of person you have become. A wonderful father and loving husband. For 33 years I have watched how you have become the man you are today . Your book or books im sure will be a successful adventure. But I,m proud to say that You are my success story. As for your great mind , well we all know you got that from your Mother. I mean it took me 2 hours to type this,lol. Of those I deem as heros in my life, you are one of them, Love Dad and write on Son write on

  12. There’s nothing as fulfilling as when a father tells you he’s proud of you, let alone publicly. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

