Dog the (racist) Bounty Hunter

Last weekend I was flipping through the channels late at night when I stumbled across Dog the Bounty Hunter. I had never heard of the show until it came up in a post about Mark Driscoll’s upcoming book. Driscoll has often mentioned being a fan of the show during his sermons because Dog beats, maces, and captures fugitive criminals “for Jesus sake.” I was really excited to finally get a chance to watch this show.

I was hooked. I watched back-to-back-to-back episodes. This dude was awesome. It was like Mad Max meets Billy Graham. There was just something kick-ass about a dude with a mullet who hunted down bad guys so he could tell them about Jesus on their way to jail. It was hilarious! I had found a new hero!

Unfortunately, we likely won’t be seeing much of Dog on television anymore. Not after the National Enquirer released audio of a profanity-laden racist tirade where Dog demands that his son Tucker break up with his black girlfriend. It’s being reported that A&E has already suspended production of the show in the aftermath.

I don’t think Dog’s coming back from this one. There’s really no coming back from something like that.

So much for my new hero.

11 thoughts on “Dog the (racist) Bounty Hunter

  1. This is quite possibly one of Joe’s favorite shows-he’s an addict! When we were in Hawaii last spring visiting some of my family Joe actually saw Beth Chapman (his wife) at the airport and then had me go into the bathroom to see if I could find her. That’s a bummer if that story is true! 😦

  2. That’s a bummer if that story is true!

    I’m not sure if you listened to the audio clip that I provided or not. It’s definately true, and it’s pretty ugly. There’s really no spinning his way out of this.

    It’s like racist diatribes have come into some kind of weird, self-destructive vogue.

    It’s really interesting. You can do just about anything and the court of public opinion will forgive you for it over time. But racists rants seem to be the lone unforgivable sin.

    I do feel a little bad for Dog because this was a private phone conversation with his son. If you can’t speak freely in that context where can you? However, what you say in private probably speaks most to who you truly are. Unfortunately Dog has been exposed as being pretty racist.

    The “N” word is something most of us have stricken from our vocabulary. For most of us, it’s one of the most vile and disgusting words you could say. With how freely he used it, and with precision, it’s going to be impossible for him to recover from this I think.

  3. In all seriousness, I don’t think that Dog is a racist. I do think that he is stupid and obviously has absolutely no control over what comes out of his own mouth. Use of the N-word does not condemn someone as a racist. Maybe Dog just listens to a lot of hip hop music and it has had a detrimental effect on his language.

    That said, man, what a moron. His career is over. And rightfully so.

  4. I would argue that if you or I ever used the word n***er, people would be justified in calling us racists. Something about “out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.”

    “I’m not going to take a chance ever in life of losing everything I’ve worked for for thirty years because some f***ing n***er heard us say n***er and turned us in to the Enquirer magazine.”

    “If Lyssa was dating a n***er we’d all say ‘f**k you, and you know that.”

    I don’t know dude. Those quotes are pretty tough to spin.

    That being said. I once heard Derek Webb say that the absolute best thing that could ever happen to anyone of us would be for our worst, deepest, darkest sins to be broadcast on the 5:00 news. In this case, I think we’re seeing that happen quite literally. I think the best thing Dog could do now is to own it, work on it, and come out the other side a better man.

  5. That is messed up how Dog was going off like that with the n word. I put up a video showing how I feel about the whole thing. It has some extra footage of this bull…._and the story of how he became a bounty hunter. The video is called “ Dog Duane Chapman Bounty Hunter “N” Word – Talking With Dave #4”. It’s at

    My videos are kind of…. Different.

  6. Norm MacDonald made a very funny point about this situation. We have no problem with the idea that this guy’s a hard-assed bounty hunter named “Dog” who brutalizes people and lives a life of constant danger. But the moment he makes a salty comment, we’re appalled and scandalized.

    Not that he deserves a break or anything, that’s not the point. But what do we think bounty hunters talk about then they’re not busting punks? The latest Nora Ephron novel?

Leave a Reply

