The old school hiphop appreciation blogmix

Alright, it’s time to confess something. I love hiphop. Have for years. There isn’t much on the radio these days that I can get down with, but I haven’t thrown in the towel on the genre entirely just yet.

I really got into it in middle school. Partly because hiphop started to really make some inroads into pop culture at that same time. I’m sure adolescent rebellion and a curiosity about black culture also had a role to play. So, for me, the glory years for hiphop were the period of time that I was most into it; namely the late-80s to mid-90s.

For the sake of nostalgia, I’ve put together a “Top 10” list of the my most memorable old school hiphop faves from back in the day. The #1 position belongs to Public Enemy, mostly because their Fear of a Black Planet album dismantled my white-rural-American worldview. Well, as much of a worldview as you can have at age 13 anyway.

Hope you enjoy the trip down memory lane as much as I did! (If you have other noteworthy additions, by all means please add them to the list in the comments section!)

#1: Fight the Power – Public Enemy

#2: The Scenario – A Tribe Called Quest

#3: The Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like That) – Digable Planets

#4: The Humpty Dance – Digital Underground

#5: Momma Said Knock You Out – LL Cool J

#6: They Want Efx – Das Efx

#7: O.P.P. – Naughty by Nature

#8: The Choice is Yours – Black Sheep

#9: It Takes Two – Rob Base

#10: People Everyday – Arrested Development

19 thoughts on “The old school hiphop appreciation blogmix

  1. I had the opportunity to see Arrested Development this past summer at Grassroots. It was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. The energy was otherworldly (if that is a word) and transcendent. It was so positive, I have never felt such energy in a crowd. And the DJ busted out into a turntable solo that shot through me like lightning. I gained a whole new level of respect for the artform of spinning turntables. They just put out a new album also, you should check it out.

  2. They just put out a new album also, you should check it out.

    I’ll have to check it out! I thought they had called it quits when Speech started putting out solo albums.

    Was the old man still a part of the act?

    Funny…some of those I don’t even see as HipPop…but just classic songs of my high school years

    Cricky’s ears hear no genre. 😆

    Obvious omissions include:

    U Can’t Touch This – MC Hammer (Do we really need to relive that?)
    Ice Ice Baby – Vanilla Ice (ditto)

    And I never quite know what to do with the Beastie Boys.

  3. I’m right there with you (again) on this one!

    Also in my regular rotation was: Ice Tea, De La Soul, MC Hammer, Beastie Boys…

    LL’s Going Back To Cali was/is my favorite of the bunch. It was the ultimate bass test for a system.

  4. Joe recently rediscovered his love of “Momma Said Knock You Out” and there have been numerous times where out of nowhere he’s just started blaring it through the computer and started to get down with his bad self. Too funny!

  5. What about Kwame, Young MC, House of Pain, Snap!, Kriss Kross, Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch, Wreckx N Effect, Cyprus Hill, Snow?

    And of course Sir Mix-a-lot – Don’t get me wrong, “Fear of a Black Planet” was in my walkman solid for like 3-4 months

  6. I just discovered Public Enemy this year. I don’t know how I missed them. Back then, I was listening to Ice-T/Body Count, Ice Cube, Easy E, NWA, ICP, Too Short, etc. Somehow, Public Enemy was never even on my radar. They are the bomb.

  7. Shane..I love it! I haven’t heard all of those songs in quite a while..it definitely brings me back to my Sodus days! ha ha

  8. Dude, this is a solid list! There’s just one problem… “MOMMA SAID KNOCK YOU OUT” IS NUMBER ONE ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    -Joe

  9. Great timing, I was in the middle of putting together a playlist of all of my favorite stuff. Your list is good. “Humpty Dance” is fun, but I’ve rediscovered “Same Song” by Digital Underground featuring a little known rapper named Tupac Shakur. I love that one!

    “Now I clown around when I hang around with the Underground…”

  10. I have to include a new list because of the major players that were nixed from this list.

    1. Ain’t Nuthin but a G thang ( Dr. Dre and Snoop )
    2. Rump Shaka ( Wrecks N Effex )
    3. Summertime ( DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince )
    4. Jump Around ( House of Pain )
    5. Woo Hah ( Busta Rhymes )
    6. Anything from ODB or the WU
    7. Creepin on a Come up and 1999 Eternal ( Bone Thugs n Harmony )
    8. Calumanati ( Tupac )
    9. Juicy ( Notorious BIG )
    10. La Di Da ( Slick Rick )

    My list could keep going but maybe that is because I am a major fan of all old school hip hop.

  11. I pretty much view Dr. Dre’s “The Chronic” as the beginning of the end for hiphop. So that’s why he and Snoop didn’t make my list.

    I like Biggie and Tupac. However, since their most popular stuff came out in like ’95 I have a hard time calling it “old school.”

  12. love that tribe called quest record.

    it’s a very very short list of hip-hop that I can stomach, but this list certainly contains most of them

Leave a Reply

