First the Boston Globe, now the Wall Street Journal?

wsj_logo.gif

It was weird enough when my silly post about tacos got mentioned on the Boston Globe’s website. It now appears that I’m a blip on another major news media outlet’s radar. A link to my post about U2’s upcoming re-release of The Joshua Tree appears on today’s online edition of the Wall Street Journal.

While it hasn’t brought as many new eyes here as the Globe’s link (by about a 2,000 to 1 ratio), I’m still kinda wigged out that major media outlets seem to have stumbled upon my blog.

Apparently, I am the new media. 😆

5 thoughts on “First the Boston Globe, now the Wall Street Journal?

  1. Wow, Shane. That is really cool!

    I wonder what makes one blog more visible than another. Your blog is well written, topical, and has healthy traffic, but I wonder what other factors contribute to the amazing stumble rate you seem to have? I think this might speak to the advantage of using a well-constructed and oft-indexed blog service like WordPress, as opposed to something proprietary.

    Anyway, keep up the power blogging, friend.

  2. That has to have alot to do with it. I have a few tricks up my sleeve to “pimp” my blog to potential readers, but nothing that I can think of that would bring “major media” attention to it.

    Divine intervention? 😆

    In all seriousness, I think I can only attribute it to WordPress. So glad I ditched Blogspot.

    (Oh, and hopefully I can parlay some of these random views to Chronicle. Attn: all big time media outlets. Pick up Josh’s newest effort!)

  3. You want to talk about surreal? I’ve got the South Florida Sun-Sentinel doing a story about my site and the church reviews I have been doing.

    I sat in a church this morning with a photographer taking pictures of me worshiping and taking notes. It was really creepy.

    It was like a picture within a picture. They’re doing a story about me writing stories. But hey, I’ll be able to clip out the article and send it to my grandmother – she’ll appretiate it. Until she sees what I wear to church every Sunday – she probably won’t like my camo shorts and hat very much.

Leave a Reply

