The 12 Tunes of Christmas – Day 1

As a way to help get everyone into the Christmas spirit, I thought it would be fun to do a little “12 Days of Christmas” musical countdown. Every day between now and Christmas, I’m going to post a new tune to celebrate the Christmas season. It’ll be a mixture of traditional favorites, some occasional yuletide silliness and maybe even one or two songs from Santa’s naughty list.

So grab a cup of hot cocoa, turn up your speakers and prepare to get your Christmas on!

otrchristmas.jpg

Over the Rhine – Darlin’ (Christmas is Coming)

7 thoughts on “The 12 Tunes of Christmas – Day 1

  1. Darlin’ (Christmas Is Coming)
    (Words and Music: Detweiler)
    Taken from the album Snow Angels

    So it’s been a long year
    Every new day brings one more tear
    Till there’s nothing left to cry

    My, my how time flies
    Like little children hiding their eyes
    We’ll make it disappear
    Let’s start a brand new year

    Darlin’ Christmas is coming
    Salvation Army bells are ringing
    Darlin’ Christmas is coming
    Do you believe in angels singing
    Darlin’ the snow is falling
    Falling like forgiveness from the sky

    If I could have anything
    What would I want this new year to bring
    Well, I’d want you here with me

    Tear these thorns from my heart
    Help the healing to start
    Let’s set this old world free
    Let’s start with you and me

  2. Great song. I really like what your doing with your blog. The social injustice stories, the music, and other. it’s really intresting.

    By the way how do you get the songs to post so clean on your site?

  3. Thanks Victor, I try really hard to keep the blog diverse and topical. Thanks for reading!

    As far as the music. It’s one of the advantages to useing WordPress. They have an audio player tool that is really easy to use. Any .mp3 hosted online can be embedded into my blog using a really simple code.

    One of the many, many reasons I prefer WordPress (I used to use Blogger.)

  4. i’m not familiar with over the rhine

    Fear not my South Florida dwellin’ brotha! Over the Rhine will be playing a show at the Lyric Theatre in Stuart, FL – a mere 1 1/2 hours from your crib – on January 30th. If it doesn’t change your life, I will personally refund your money! (Not really, but you should go!)

    A friend of mine who really likes the band said recently that you probably will never “get” Over the Rhine until you see them live. But when you do…

    but i’m pretty sure that you like them a lot.

    I probably do mention them here too much. It’s kind of a mission of mine to spread the gospel of OTR.

    There’s quite the cult following of OTR among Nyack College alumni – particularly those who attended in the late-90s. No doubt the result of our collective love for our late dear friend Vanessa Bryson. She was probably their number 1 fan long before anyone else, and if you loved her, you were an Over the Rhine fan by default.

    Their music is part of the DNA of my marriage too. Heck, Josiah was born (and probably conceived!) to Over the Rhine playing on the stereo.

    Alright, too much information. But you get my point.

    And as a taste of things to come… there will be more Over the Rhine in the countdown.

  5. paste is lovin’ these two. the new album and the snow angles are both getting muy praise. remember sophmore year, did you have a OtR or vigilantes of love poster in your room? whatever happened to VoL. i loved that song “she walks on roses”. w0rd.

  6. Paste has always had an incestuous relationship with OTR. Partially because they’ve been an online retailer of their music for nearly a decade, and partially because they have phenomenal taste in music.

    Regarding Vigilantes of Love.

    Although they disbanded (sadly) in 2002, you will be happy to know that their frontman Bill Mallonee is still rockin’ in the free world – both as a solo act and with his new project Victory Garden. He’s been known to pop up on an OTR tour here or there.

    Regarding “the poster.” I can’t remember if it featured VOL or not. But the poster was of a girl holding her nose underwater, presumably drowning, with the words “Go down easy” (a reference to the song of the same name on their “Good Dog, Bad Dog” album) printed on it.

    In silver Sharpie I penned the following passage from Jonah chapter 2:

    “In my distress I called to the LORD,
    and he answered me.
    From the depths of the grave I called for help,
    and you listened to my cry.

    You hurled me into the deep,
    into the very heart of the seas,
    and the currents swirled about me;
    all your waves and breakers
    swept over me.

    I said, ‘I have been banished
    from your sight;
    yet I will look again
    toward your holy temple.’

    The engulfing waters threatened me,
    the deep surrounded me;
    seaweed was wrapped around my head.

    To the roots of the mountains I sank down;
    the earth beneath barred me in forever.
    But you brought my life up from the pit,
    O LORD my God.

    “When my life was ebbing away,
    I remembered you, LORD,
    and my prayer rose to you,
    to your holy temple.

    “Those who cling to worthless idols
    forfeit the grace that could be theirs.

    But I, with a song of thanksgiving,
    will sacrifice to you.
    What I have vowed I will make good.
    Salvation comes from the LORD.”

    It was poetic and beautiful. And everyone who saw it generally missed the point.

Leave a Reply

