Seven Head Division – This Sunday in Rochester!

Of limited interest to most of you, but I know there are some lurkers from the Rochester area who frequent my blog.

One of my favorite bands during the Struck Mute days was a little indie outfit called Seven Head Division. I was partial to supporting their music because they were from Rochester, but it was their ability to reach unfathomable heights of musical awesomeness that had me hooked. Sadly, the timing of our return to, then departure from, then return to Rochester meant that I only had one chance to see them perform live before they disbanded in 2005.

That’s why I’m super stoked that they’ll be playing a show in the Roc this Sunday, at a club just down the street from my house! Turns out everyone is in town for the holidays and they’ve decided to put a gig together.

If you’ve never seen Seven Head Division before, now is your chance to witness why it’s easily the region’s most impressive band when it comes to creating atmospheres. It’s not just that the band makes haunting, down-tempo music, but it’s the total command of tone and texture that dazzles. The band’s execution puts even huge-budget bands to shame, and its somber, vaguely alt-metal sound evades easy categorization. Longtime fans can also rejoice, though, as one final album (recorded in ’06) is being finished for an expected release next year. – City Newspaper

Needless to say, I’ll be there. If anyone is interested, the details are in the flier posted below. You can hear a handful of tracks from their older stuff, as well as two instrumentals from their upcoming album on their MySpace page.

seven-head.jpg

2 thoughts on “Seven Head Division – This Sunday in Rochester!

  1. Dude! I can’t believe you have this on the site! I just dropped it on mine (I’m a friend of Andy King’s from waaaaay back). I am going to do everything I can to get to the show Sunday. The nice thing is that Pegacide opens so the boys won’t go on until later (which helps my schedule). Could there actually be a face to face in our future?!?!?

  2. Hey Rochester lurker! I’m certainly thrilled with the possibility that we’ll see each other at the show. However, given our track record I’ll believe it when I see it.

    BTW, I’m dreading the thought that this is going to be a long night. The last time I went to a show at the Bug Jar the doors opened at 8PM, but the band we all came there to see didn’t take the stage until after 1AM. I’m hoping the fact that this show is on a Sunday night will mean a timely start.

Leave a Reply

