Larry Norman (1947-2008)

We lost a legend yesterday. Christian rock pioneer Larry Norman passed away at the age of 60, after a long battle with illness.

Larry Norman was ahead of his time, performing his blend of folk/rock long before the idea of “Christian rock” was even remotely acceptable in the church. It’s often said that Bob Dylan was heavily influenced by his music during his “Christian period,” and even attended Larry’s Bible study while on tour.

“I wanted to push aside the traditional gospel quartet music, break down the church doors and let the hippies and the prostitutes and other unwashed rabble into the sanctuary…I wanted to talk about feeding the poor, going into the world….[I felt that] most of the modern music was anemic and needed a transfusion.” – MusicianGuide.com

I feel blessed to have seen him perform at Creation 2000. It’s one of my favorite concert experiences to date.

We’ll miss you Larry. The devil didn’t have all the good music.

7 thoughts on “Larry Norman (1947-2008)

  1. I’ve been keeping up with Larry for a couple years and knew it was only a matter of time until he went home. Bummer, I’ve got too many friends partying in heaven without me…

  2. Good to see you (Slacker), any chance you’re going to see OTR and Ani DiFranco on Saturday? Long shot, I know.

    BKP, I knew you’d be down with Larry. I’m sure you’ve got a few CDs of his I should steal sometime.

  3. oh man, how i wish i could go to that show! it’s bound to be one of their best shows ever, i’m sure. i take it you’re going … ? (say hi to heather and nathaniel for me.) enjoy it! 🙂

  4. Yeah, we’re going. Tough not to when it’s a block from your house.

    I don’t think that Nathaniel and Heather are going. But my wife will see Heather earlier that day at Heather’s baby shower. I’ll make sure she tells them hello for you.

Leave a Reply

