So I guess we have a race, eh?

hillary_and_obama.jpg

What a difference a week makes.

Last week I thought for sure the wheels were coming off the Clinton bus; after her series of tirades, fear mongering ads and other shady tactics. I thought she’d make it close in Texas and Ohio, but felt the pendulum had begun to swing in Obama’s favor and the nomination was mush more within reach than the delegate count indicated.

After yesterday’s results I don’t know which end is up!

Last week I argued that Mit Romney had done the Republicans a disservice by bowing out of the GOP race so early, because everyone had almost completely stopped paying attention to McCain v. Huckabee.

Now McCain gets to rally the troops while the duelin’ Dems promise at least six-more weeks of winter.

42 thoughts on “So I guess we have a race, eh?

  1. A CNN analyst put it pretty well last night when he said that Obama got punched in the mouth this last week and didnt know how to react to the punch. Eventually he will have to go after Hilary for the tax stuff along with her claim to know how to lead by sleeping with the guy that lead the country??? He has plenty of ammo to use on her and will have to come down off his perch and throw a little mud back if he wants to win cause right now he lost all his momentum with delegate lead or not.

    I do find it funny that Hilary is using the I know how to lead, he can only give a good speech routine and getting good play. Guess even democrats are all uninformed and must listen to Rush to much ^^

  2. If Hillary can count being married to a president as leadership experience then I’m going to add PhD after my name. If that logic works for her it should work for me.

  3. I need to see Obama push back. You can be critical of your opponent’s record and tactics without resorting to “going negative.” Fiercely critical even. I need to see a bit of that from him.

    He got punched in the mouth. Yes. But he also didn’t lose any ground ultimately. If Clinton needed a moral victory, she got one. But she’s still not the nominee. In fact, she’s still behind Obama popular votes, states won and delegates. That’s what matters.

    From Obama’s email today:

    “We knew that the closer we got to the change we seek, the more we’d see of the politics we’re trying to end — the attacks and distortions that try to distract us from the issues that matter to people’s lives, the stunts and the tactics that ask us to fear instead of hope.”

    Just say that. Louder.

  4. Sounds great Shane whats his response to her saying he can’t lead. Him saying ohh we knew they would start using politics is like me saying well I figured they would use a pitcher to pitch in baseball. No kidding! I was upset though that he didnt use mongering that was the only item missing from every speech he gives.

    Cricky you are correct too btw.

  5. Frankly, I don’t know what he should say in retort. There’s a few things I might toss out there if I were him, but there’s probably a reason I’m not a campaign manager.

    I might point to the absolute flop of “Hillary Care” as an example of her inability to lead those on both sides of the aisle on a key issue like healthcare. Then point to what he had accomplished at the State level to expand and improve healthcare in Illinois.

    I might ask if scaring the hell out of people in order to secure their vote is what we’re calling “leadership” these days. I’d ask the American people what that might mean as far as how they’re collective intellect is viewed by a candidate who wants to scare your vote out of you.

    I might point to his over 1 million private donors as evidence of his ability to inspire and motivate everyday citizens (ie, “lead”). Most of which have never given two hoots about the American political process.

    I’d say that if she wants to take credit for her husband’s leadership, she’s going to have to own up to the failure of NAFTA, which she supported in the beginning. I’d ask if it was her idea to lead thousands of jobs and billions of dollars across the borders.

    I’d ask her why she “led” us into a war she now claims to oppose.

  6. I might bring up the “3AM Phone Call” ad, her circulating a photo of him in Somali garb, her mocking his speeches on hope and change and then ask her about this…

    (I might also bring up that I now have Kerry’s endorsement.)

  7. i was saddened to see it end up 60-40 for mrs. clinton here in RI. but, obama did win the ol’ home state of maine (he also won VT, making the race thing seem silly, considering maine & VT are the two whitest states in america).

  8. While Hillary and Obama are slugging it out, the Republicans will be taking notes while having BBQs with the media down at McCain’s Arizona cabin.

    All the press coverage was nice when it was 90% pro Obama. I think the free ride is over.
    I also think McCain is the big winner from an extended Democratic primary.

  9. I will admit that during Obama’s surge from Super-Tuesday until March 4th the media coverage was overwhelmingly positive (for what? Two, three weeks?). When things are going that well, and you have relatively few skeletons in your closet, it’s tough to put a negative spin on things.

    But the guy has also had to answer a barrage of questions about whether or not he’s a secret radical Muslim operative, he’s had to defend his faith repeatedly, he’s had to answer criticism for all those “present” votes, he’s had to answer criticism for not covering his heart during the anthem, for not wearing a flag lapel pin, for smoking, whether he’s “black enough,” etc.

    So I don’t agree that his ride has been exactly “free.”

    If he wants the nomination, he’s going to have to fight for it. I’ve got no problem with that. If he can’t win it, he doesn’t deserve it. He’s competing with a Clinton – it’s certainly not going to be a cake walk. Considering that he’s had to handle the assault from all sides, the Clintons and the FWD: email sending Dobson kooks, and he still has managed to be the front runner, I’d say he’s done pretty well for himself thus far.

  10. Interesting facts:

    1. I hate Rush Limbaugh
    2. I occassionaly listen to aformentioned fatty if sports radio is talking about something boring (ie. Nascar)
    3. Rush (fatty) told registered republicans to go vote for Clinton in TX (open primary) to further the battle between her and Obama.
    4. According to polls 9% of registered Repulicans voted for Clinton.
    5. To many people listen to rush.

  11. John,

    More interesting facts.
    1. Texas doesn’t require voters to register by party.
    2. Texans in general do not like be told to do anything by outsiders.
    3. If Texans voted for Clinton it was by choice not influnce of an outsider.
    4. Many Texans vote democrat simply because in some areas you must vote democrat if you want to vote for local candidates.

  12. It’s funny you (TheDeeZone) mention sleeping with a president a leadership experience. I just can’t help but laugh to myself everytime I hear all about her leadership skills. It makes me think of one of those Holiday Inn Express commercials. If SNL was not so far up Hillary’s rearend they would have some excellent material based on that.

  13. More interesting facts:

    1. The talk of Clinton “winning” Texas is annoying. We won’t really know who won Texas until all the caucus delegates are accounted for. (Delegates are what they’re competing for folks!)

    After the primary vote, Clinton was up by four delegates: 65 to 61. But 67 delegates still remain. They still haven’t called the results from the caucuses, which at last count Obama was up 56% to 44%.

    If that ratio were to hold up, Obama would win the most Texas delegates: 98 to 94.

    So the scorecard could actually be:

    Obama: TX, VT
    Clinton: OH, RH

    2. Rush Limbaugh is either a bigot, liar or culturally inept after laughing when a caller compared Obama’s looks to Curious George and then trying to claim he didn’t know who Curious George was (then why did you laugh Rush?)

    3. I would not shed a tear if Mexico re-conquered Texas.

  14. I do pick on Texas alot. But you have to realize that I’m pretty much biased against everything south and west of Pennsylvania – with the possible exception of the west coast.

  15. Clinton’s spokesman Howard Wolfson just compared Obama to Ken Star for attacking Clinton…
    pass the popcorn, this is getting good.

  16. Holy…

    Do a Google search for “Clinton tax return Rick Lazio.”

    In 2000 she was the candidate demanding her opponent release his tax return information. Now Obama wants to know what she’s hiding and he’s akin to Ken Starr?

    Hypocrite anyone?

    I would have thought the Karl Rove comment would have been transparent enough to turn off voters, but apparently I was wrong with that one. The Obama camp HAS to scream this one from the mountain tops!

  17. not to have this conversation degrade into a name calling thread but… Texas Sucks

    On a side note do you really think that 9% of registered republicans would just up and vote for Clinton? Im not sure the mob is fickle and even arrogant stubborn Texans can be told what to do. : p

    In the end I hope its not the case bcse that would mean Rush actually holds significant sway over people

  18. No I don’t think that 9% of registered Republicans would switch.

    However since you don’t have to register a party. They just stamp your voters card with a party for primaries & you are stuck with that party until either the general elections or end of the year. So there are many people who really don’t have a party affilation. There are still parts of the state where you have to vote Dem if you want to vote for local elections. So, I know I have switched back and forth from year to year depending on whom was running. I vote issues not party.

  19. i liked texas. just wanted to stick that in there. the only state where i felt completely uncomfortable in my life is arkansas. i even liked alabama! but arkansas was the creepiest place i’ve ever been. and my hero (johnny cash) is from there. weird. i also was almost driven off the road by a crazy redneck in south carolina, which i presume was due to having a maine license plate. i guess they haven’t heard the joke – maine is the deep south of the far north!

    just wanted to help dee out as it appears my fellow northeasterners are attacking ol’ dixie & the lone star state in particular 🙂

  20. I don’t want to put words in John’s mouth, but I’m pretty sure he was saying that the fact that members of one party can jerk with the other party’s ability to select their own candidate is one of the drawbacks to having open primaries.

    Frankly, I’m torn on the closed vs. open primaries subject. As an independent voter in a closed primary state, I can’t help but feel a little disenfranchised. However, open primaries just seem like absolute anarchy.

  21. Shane & John,

    Really in Texas I don’t think that many people mess with the other parties primary. I know a lot of people loyal to a particualr party but I know just as many independents or those with no affiliation.

    When Moncrief, I voted democrat because I wanted to vote for him. When he was up for re-election, I switched to republican to vote against Moncrief. Not because I wanted to mess with the other party but because I no disagreed with several things Moncrief had done/said.

  22. While you hold strong that Texas voters are above Limbaugh-esque shenanigans, there are a whole bunch of people (including many of your fellow Texans) who are seeing smoke and wondering if there was a fire.

    For example: The Limbaugh Effect on Clinton’s Texas Win

    I know you seem to feel that Texans are impervious to outside influence, but Texas voters who played switch-a-roo are even admitting to taking their marching orders from Rush Limbaugh.

    But none of that is really the point. John merely said that the opportunity for this kind of stuff to happen is one of the drawbacks of having an open primary. He didn’t even mention Texas.

    Open primaries, due to their very nature, are vulnerable to interference and corruption. Especially as individuals become increasingly interconnected through multiple sources of media, radio, television, internet, etc.

    The point is, it’s possible. Even in Texas. And no one said it’s a crisis, or even the end of democracy as we know it, it was just simply pointed out that it was a drawback.

  23. The ironic thing about this all is that I can distinctly remember Limbaugh complaining that liberal voters were doing the exact same thing during McCain v. Bush back in the 2000 run for the GOP bid.

    Back then he was telling his listeners how evil those liberals were for jerking with their party’s selection process by crossing party lines and voting for McCain in an effort to keep the party divided.

    He cited it as just another example of how those godless lefty bastards will stop at nothing in an effort to grab power. I guess he’s all turned around on the subject now.

  24. Actually, what I’m saying is that you really can’t know that for sure. You just know what some people have said.

    There are some party hard-liners in Texas. There are just as many who aren’t or are a member of a party out of necessity. There are many counties that if most people are democrats only because they want to also vote in local elections. They really aren’t democrats. That can explain a lot of the so called “Rush Effect”. I have lived in that part of the state. If there were local elections I cared about during a primary I voted Dem.

    Ok, so a prof out in Canyon found 70 people who claimed to be Rush zombies. That is a very isolated part of the state, has this also happened in Tarrant, Dallas or Union counties where people actually live.

  25. I don’t know. Go research it. I don’t care enough to. At no point have I said whether or not I believe Limbaugh actually held much sway with the Texas vote.

    All I did was clarify John’s (who is not johnkeane by the way) point that the possibility of this sort of thing taking place is one of the drawbacks of an open primary.

    (Yeah, so I used what some people are saying about what happened in Texas as an example. It’s the most current and relevant example!)

    You’re the one who keeps wanting to make it about Texas. I don’t care about Texas!! 😆

  26. The issue here is really the party’s sovereignty in selecting their own candidate. That’s the whole thing with open primaries. I can’t honestly make a reasonable argument that I should have a say in who a party selects as their candidate if I myself won’t commit to that party. But at the same time, that’s the problem I have with closed primaries – that it marginalizes moderate and independent voters in the selection process.

  27. I dislike closed primaries. They are outdated and fail to account for those who don’t need a party to tell them how to think. I also, think the entire primary system needs to be redone. Why should a state that is barely big enough to be a county have that much influence over who our countries leader is. The best idea I have heard was for a regional system. That rotates which region goes 1st.

  28. I don’t know. I honestly do see it both ways.

    If closed primaries truly are “outdated” then we could make a valid argument that the whole idea of political parties in general is outdated. Which is a conversation I’m willing to have, but until an independent candidate actually accomplishes something I’m inclined to disagree.

Leave a Reply

