Muxtape: Listen Now!

muxtape.jpg

Have you ever wanted to put together a mixtape for the whole world to hear and enjoy? No? That’s probably because you’re not nearly as narcissistic as I am!

I’ve been waiting a long time for a service like Muxtape. I’ve always wanted to include some sort of streaming audio feature as part of this blog. A way to share the tunes I’m currently feelin’ with my peeps. Now I have it!

I just learned about Muxtape this afternoon and quickly threw together a mix of some of the music I had on hand. I also put a link to my Muxtape in the nav list. I absolutely guarantee I’ll be playing with my new toy for quite some time to come! Enjoy!

(big ht: Mudpuppy)

12 thoughts on “Muxtape: Listen Now!

  1. I am wondering about the legality of it. They have the disclaimer that if you post something it means you have permission to let them use it.

    It’ll be interesting to see how long it takes those snakes over at the RIAA to file a lawsuit against you and I over use of their tunes.

  2. Yeah, that’s the other weird thing about it too. Zero profit motive from what I can tell. Why let tens, if not hundreds, of thousands of people upload, what, thousands of terabytes of music to your server?

  3. At least half of yours would be on mine.

    Well done.

    I chose “All I Need” from In Rainbows. Totally overwhelmed by that song. I must listen to it 3,4 times daily.

  4. If you’ve purchased the m4a’s through iTunes, I think you’re out of luck. Songs from the iTunes store are all rights managed (aka protected) and you can’t change formats on protected files.

    If it’s music you’ve ripped from a CD, you should be able to change the format by right-clicking the track and selecting “convert to MP3.”

    Also, for future reference, you can go to “Edit,” then “Preferences,” and select the “Advanced” tab. Under the “Importing” tab you can change the “Import Using:” option from AAC Encoder to MP3 Encoder. Then when you do rip music in the future, it will convert to mp3 instead. (I prefer it because it’s compatible with a wider range of software and devices.)

Leave a Reply

