Trey hints at Phish reunion?

In a recent interview with Rolling Stone, Trey Anastasio seemed to drop some fairly heavy hints that a Phish reunion might be in the works.

“When Phish broke up, I made some comment about how I’m not gonna go around playing ‘You Enjoy Myself’ for the rest of my life,” Anastasio said with a laugh. “And it’s so funny because Fish and Mike and Page have been talking to each other a lot lately and now — it’s not that I can’t believe that I said that, but its symbolic of how much I lost my mind or how much I lost my bearings or something. Because at this point in time I would give my left nut to play that song five times in a row every day until I die. I certainly thought about that while I was in jail.”

Trey. I’ll give you both of mine after the vasectomy, just bring back Phish!

15 thoughts on “Trey hints at Phish reunion?

  1. i read that the other day, too.
    i really do think it is inevitable that they will play together again in some way, but i doubt with any extensive touring. but who knows.

  2. You didn’t hear about all that? He got busted with heroin and hydrocodone back in December of ’06. He was charged with three felony counts of possession. But plead out of jail time.

  3. HEROIN?!?! what?!?! dude. that’s insane. what would EVERYONE i went to high school think? (anyone else from maine – and probably vermont and upstate ny – can relate to that). i was the weird one for not being a fan! well…there were plenty of other reasons, too 🙂

  4. Yeah, it was pretty crazy. I mean, I just always assumed Trey (they) were users. But I always figured it would be pot, maybe LSD from time to time or something. But heroin? Yikes.

  5. remember sophmore year when i yelled up at you, john keane & bockman for playing phish and john dumped water on my head? wicked good times budday 🙂 and then i came up and you made me listen and i said “ok ok, it’s good”. i still have the copy of rift. trey is an amazing artist, their music isn’t my thing, but it’s too bad he got caught up in that crap.

  6. Someone getting tangled up in heroin is never a good thing. But I think it’s even worse in Trey’s case as he’s a father. I can’t imagine ever being able to look my children in the eye again after getting busted for heroin possession.

  7. hopefully as a father and an adult you learn, you change, and tell your kids and yourself that “this stops with me”.

  8. heh memories of harrasing Tim how great! Remember us turning the speakers face down on the floor and pumping Rage’s “F u I wont do what you tell me” while jumping around? Jeez we were pagans!

  9. 1998 was the best year of my life. I got to travel to Africa, had the most fun I’d ever had in college the year we all lived together, and I started dating Cheryl. Good times.

  10. “I can’t imagine ever being able to look my children in the eye again after getting busted for heroin possession.”
    Isn’t that a bit overly dramatic? Perspective please – he didn’t KILL anyone or steal anything, etc. I’m glad he got help before it ruined his life completely, there really isn’t any but one path for a heroin addict to take.

  11. Just so I’m straight. A father being a heroin addict falls below murder and petty theft in your moral economy?

    To go from being the type of dad that I put every ounce of my being into trying to be, and the way I tray to raise my kids, to getting busted with heroin would be a pretty massive fall for me. And it would mean that I’ve let my kids down pretty hard. So, no, I don’t find that to be overly dramatic. It would be very difficult for me to face my family after a disgraceful nosedive like that.

    Don’t get me wrong. I also am glad Trey got treatment before it destroyed his life, and frankly “but for the Grace of God go I.”

Leave a Reply

