Taking a Chance on Fu Yang

Found this on Christianity Today’s website today. I found it pretty touching.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

So let’s use this as an opportunity for discussion topic shall we?

Have you/would you ever consider adopting a child from another country? Would you adopt a special needs child? A child of another race? What about the adoption needs in our own country, in your own community? Have you ever considered opening up your home to help meet those needs?

6 thoughts on “Taking a Chance on Fu Yang

  1. We’re thinking hard about adopting ourselves. I’ve always wondered what motivates people to adopt from other countries. I certainly don’t have a problem with it, I just wondered why they didn’t consider the local needs.

    As for special needs, wow, that’s a tough one. Definitely challenges your world views.

    Great story BTW.

  2. Have you/would you ever consider adopting a child from another country?
    Yes but we are currently looking at adopting from through the foster care system.

    Would you adopt a special needs child?
    Depends on the need. In Florida any child over 2 is considered special needs.

    A child of another race?
    Possibly
    What about the adoption needs in our own country, in your own community?
    Yes, see answer to 1st question.

    Have you ever considered opening up your home to help meet those needs?
    Working on that one.

  3. I guess the movie Juno had me thinking about the adoption needs locally. Everyone tends to think about adopting overseas, and I get that. But there are any number of children in a given zip code who also need loving families.

    I’m not sure if we’d seriously consider adoption or not. It’s something we toss around from time to time, but isn’t really on our radar currently. (What with buying a house and having a baby in a few months and all.)

    I can say – and with the full knowledge of how selfish it sounds – that I really don’t think I have it in me to adopt a child with “special needs.” I mean obviously it would depend on how severe those needs were. I don’t know … that’s a tough one.

  4. Shane,

    I would be open to international adoption. Nate things that is is morally/socially irresponsible when there are children in our own city needing homes.

    AS for specials. A child over 2 or sibling groups, learning disabilities, physical handicap or ADHD would be considered.

  5. when i find myself in the position of being able to, economically & domestically, i would like to adopt as many children as i could afford. children from other countries or of other backgrounds are no exception. there’s a part of me that thinks it would be weird to raise a child that isn’t of my own background – and i don’t mean “white”, i mean the of the same ethnic ancestory. it’d be no different raising a black or vietnamese child as it would to raise a polish child. the point of children in your own community of need is a good point, as well. sort of libertarian adoption 🙂

    as far as special needs, that is a tough one b/c i work in the field, and might be a bit overwhelmed if i came home to it as well.

Leave a Reply

