The Spiritual Journey of WALL•E

Team Bertou is fully geeked on seeing Pixar’s latest film WALL•E when it hits theaters this weekend. Pixar never disappoints us with their ridiculously creative stories and jaw-dropping animation, and WALL•E already looks like a solid candidate for the “1,000 Views Club” in our household (see also: Finding Nemo, Cars and The Incredibles).

I came across this interview today with Pixar’s Andrew Stanton. In it he discusses how his Christian faith informs his creativity, stories and the development of his characters. Here’s a taste:

The last thing I want to do is go to a movie and feel like I’m being preached to or being told how to be, and I think it’s more honest—and you’re going to have more effect—to be truthful with the values of your characters, working off of your own values. That was the case with WALL•E. The greatest commandment is to love one another, and to me, that’s the ultimate purpose of living. So that was the perfect goal for the loneliest robot on earth, to learn the greatest commandment, to learn to love.

8 thoughts on “The Spiritual Journey of WALL•E

  1. Having not really heard about Stanton’s faith in the past, I still “sensed” “something more” during this exchange in Finding Nemo:

    DORY: He says it’s time to let go! Everything’s gonna be all right!

    MARLIN: How do you know!? How do you know something bad isn’t gonna happen!?

    DORY: I don’t!

    I just figured it was a case of me reading something about myself into the scene. But hey, who knows.

    Either way. They’re making PHENOMINAL films at Pixar, and until they prove otherwise, I’ll keep towing the line.

  2. I think Kirk Cameron wants to beat up Andrew Stanton.

    Oh wait…Kirk Cameron wants to beat up any Christian who doesn’t bow to the gospel of the 5 spiritual laws.

    “He seemed kind of sad, and we thought that was odd for somebody who had found religion. Usually religion brings joy into a person’s life, and he didn’t seem very joyful.” Producer of Growing Pains after Kirk became a Christian.

    I don’t know I’m ranting about Michael Seaver so much…but, I think he’s just an icon for Crapianity. You’ve all seen his “Christian” movies…right?

    I guess it’s just refreshing to hear about a Christian (Stanton) making FANTASTIC films and not pushing others away with Left Behind movies that Josh Way really needs to start dubbing alternative audio tracks on.

  3. i haven’t seen a single pixar film.
    this is perhaps do to the fact that i don’t have kids.
    though i do hear good things from others like me 🙂

  4. Not having seen a Pixar film has nothing to do with not having kids. It simply means you have no soul.

    And I would love to hear Josh riff the Left Behind series, but that would mean I’d have to look upon the abomination with my own eyes!

  5. We are taking Levi to see this. OK! So we are taking ourselves and Levi is coming along. It looks like it can be this generations ET, we will see. I had no idea it was God inspired, but in a cool way.

Leave a Reply

