Could you pass the citizenship test?

Each month nearly 3,000 people do something those of us who were born in America never had to – take the citizenship test. It’s just one part of the 8 to 14 month process of becoming a United States citizen, but it might be the most difficult.

MSNBC posted a sampling of the test questions on their website. If you were to take the test today, would you be eligible for citizenship? Not if you score less than 80%.

So, how’d you do? Be honest!

31 thoughts on “Could you pass the citizenship test?

  1. I have to admit that the first time I took the test I scored only 70%. Some of the questions that I got wrong were a result of carelessly reading the questions and hastily taking the test. But others I simply didn’t know the answer to.

    I took it again today, several days after the first time and having seen the correct answers and I still only scored 80%.

  2. 70% for me, just like shane, read to fast, afterwards thought, oh duh i knew that, but i am pretty sure i took that same test in 5th grade. i think i did better then! 😉

  3. For example. I got #2 wrong. Now, I know the Constitution wasn’t drafted in 1776, but the question was immediately after one about the Declaration of Independence, so I carelessly assumed question #2 was asking about the Declaration.

    The real question is … how would we all do without the multiple choice options? The actual test isn’t multiple choice!

  4. 80% that means I’m an American. 🙂

    The only really didn’t know flat out was the chief justice.

    But, the others I was almost sure on…but, chose poorly. Neat test!

    Just comes to show you how much MORE we should honor those who take the time to become citizens.

  5. 75%…the only one i’m pissed about not knowing is that the speaker of the house takes over as president. i feel like they should have made a huge deal about Pelosi possibly being president. i know they made a big deal about her being speaker as the first woman speaker, but not about possibly being president.

  6. 75%. Pitiful. And I know I’d have done much worse without the multiple choice.
    Guess I have some work to do before homeschooling. 🙂 That’s actually one of the reasons I’m looking forward to it, so I can relearn all of this stuff I should already know.

  7. 90%.

    It was a toss up whether it was 23 or 27 amendments and 7 or 9 supreme court justices. I guessed wrong both times but I was close both times.

  8. The main reason I knew the number of Supreme Court justices was because their last two important votes (2nd Amendment and Death Penalty for child rape) were 5-4 decisions. If that hadn’t been in the headlines recently, I wouldn’t have known the answer.

  9. everyone always tells me I a communist maybe its true. I refuse to announce my score however it was epic fail!

  10. 95%. now the next time some right wing nutjob calls me unpatriotic i’ll challenge them 🙂

    i love #9…i wonder how many people get it wrong, not realizing that maine belonged to mass until 1820. and most of my fellow mainiacs have yet to get over the tyranny we suffered under the commonwealth 😉

  11. i got 85%….i was hoping maine was apart of the union but guessed new hampshire and was wrong…
    my superior court judge friend would be very upset with me that I had no idea who the supreme court justice is

  12. This dope who wrote this article has their facts wrong. You don’t need to score 80% on your citizenship exam to pass–you only need to answer 6 out of 10 questions correctly. That’s 60%. Unfortunately in most grading systems 60% is afailing grade! Nice to see that we set our standards so high that failing is now passing. Talk about the dumbing down of America!

Leave a Reply

