NFL Recap: Week 1

Obviously the big story coming out of week one is Tom Brady’s torn ACL. With him out of the picture the AFC East (entire league?) seems up in the air. You hate to see a great player lose an entire year like that, and you never want t see anyone get hurt. But then again, it’s pretty tough to feel sorry for Tom Brady.

The Dolphins ripped my heart out (yet again) with their last minute attempt to look competitive against Brett Favre and the Jets. They had a handful of opportunities to punch it in throughout the game and come out of it with a victory. But in typical Dolphins fashion they dangled the victory carrot in front of my nose to the bitter end. What’s the definition of insanity again?

The Bills looked really good against the banged up Seahawks, and with Brady out folks around here have new reason for optimism about their playoff chances this season. Three TDs for Willie Parker. The Colts lay an egg at home against the Bears. We get our first look at the post-Favre era in Green Bay tonight. It looks like Donovan McNabb is feeling better these days.

So yeah, week one is almost completely in the books. Did you watch any games? How’d your team look?

19 thoughts on “NFL Recap: Week 1

  1. My team looked 38-3 good! McNabb’s finally healthy, offense clicked without two starters and that defense was smothering. Looks like it will be a fun season.

  2. yeah, I don’t feel bad for Brady, what with that disgustingly ugly hat on and all.
    The comical part to me is that the big three AFC contenders…Indy, SD, and NE all look(ed) shaky. Maybe this is the year for Pittsburgh again.
    The Eagles looked good, but, it was against a horrible, horrible, defense. However, the Eagles’ defense looked real fast, real strong. We’ll see if they can get some turnovers against the Cowboys next week!!!
    E-A-G-L-E-S EAGLES!!!!

  3. I feel bad for him but im a new england fan. It’s just a bummer that hell lose a year of chasing records and matching up with Moss.

  4. This is what I get for taking a person from the stupid North East. The only thing I can be happy about is that NE will only go 12-4 now poor them.

  5. on a fantasy note, i’m not sure my team could have underachieved any more than they did.

    the Bears looked fantastic. the D is back in chicago…they smothered indy.

  6. It also appears as though the Bears may have a stud running back in Forte. I quickly went online to see if he was available in our league, as I’m horrible in that position, and saw that Andrew actually drafted the kid. He must have done his homework!

    Oh what could have been with that Minnesota v. Green Bay game tonight had Favre ended up on the Vikings.

  7. the best thing about Forte was re-reading the “MAG”‘s pre-season rankings and how they disparaged him as a pick that “wouldn’t lift their offensive potential”

    i LOVE the pre-season hype and engage in it myself…but i also LOVE how no one gets called on the foolishness of their predictions.

  8. Well, he certainly is walking into a great opportunity! With Moss and gang, he couldn’t ask for a better supporting cast. I think twelve wins is optimistic, but then again their schedule is pretty soft. Brady might have gone 32-0 this season had he stayed healthy! 😆

  9. funny jim mentioned the hat…he got a lot of heat up here for wearing a damn yankees cap before. but yeah, it’s been all the news today, no one seems to be talking about anything else. he had what, the 3rd most consecutive games started ever? the weird thing is i heard A LOT of callers on boston sports radio during august talking about the pats having no back-ups and brady getting hurt. spooky! but, they can still go 8-8 based on being in that division, the system they have as a team, and how good the rest of the team is. superbowl? no. playoffs? sure.

    and i contest that the colts “laid an egg”. DA BEARS HAVE THE D, BABY! they’ve got all the guys good and healthy for the moment, and i think their D could be as good as it was 2 years ago. and like i said on my blog, watch out for forte – he’s gonna be special.

  10. Fly Eagles fly Eagles…on the road to victory …
    I was amazed at how well they played…especially on D they shut them down…
    I wish tony homo i mean romo went down but that is the philly in me….
    i saw a shirt that said “I am not angry, I am from philly”

  11. Decent first week for teams I’m interested in. Jets, win. Pack, wins. Colts, not so good…

    Farve looked good yesterday – he was efficient and other than his hail mary TD toss he looked like he kept a good head on his shoulders. With Brady out, Farve and the Jets look to have a good shot at that division.

    Rogers had a good debut tonight. He had a few flashes of greatness – long pass to set up the first TD, good poise in pocket to toss first TD, great pass on recalled TD. I’m doing everything I can to watch him w/out the constant Farve comparison. I’m excited to watch him behind center for the Pack in the coming years.

    Manning was rusty, but I think he still played a decent game. His receivers have to learn to catch the ball again. Harrison, Gonzalez, and Wayne all had costly errors that were game breakers. I’m not too concerned though – I still think they’re the AFC team to beat, especially with Brady out of the picture.

    Seattle and Detroit were both disappointing. I was impressed with Buffalo and Chicago. Bears looked good. They’ve got the D of their superbowl run back. Forte is gonna be a force.

    It’s good to have football again. I’ve missed thee…

  12. I didn’t see alot of the Packers last night. But what I did see, Rogers looked decent. For a “rookie” quarterback making his first start, against a division rival, he did about as good a job as one could ask. No turnovers, that’s key.

    If I’m a Packers fan, I’m feeling pretty good this week.

    If I’m a Vikings fan, I’m real nervous about my offense.

  13. For those who care, here are the Pick’Em standings after week 1:

    Rank________Pick Set Name___________________Total Points
    1……………..Bullfrogz……………………………..13
    2……………..You’re Losing to a Girl……………..11
    3……………..GoColts………………………………9
    3……………..J-O-S-I-A-H spells FOOTBALL!……9
    3……………..Fly like the E-A-G-L-E-S…………..9
    3……………..Gap of Strahan………………………9
    3……………..Hoo Ang’s Greats!…………………..9
    8……………..caffeinated…………………………..8
    8……………..Shane Bertou………………………..8
    8……………..The Shaded Pains…………………..8
    8……………..Crystal’s Picks……………………….8
    8……………..Pdog………………………………….8
    8……………..da bears……………………………..8
    14……………..Must Pick Steelers…………………7
    15……………..El Conquistador…………………….0

    You can still sign up! It’s a long season, so you’d still have a chance to win!

Leave a Reply

