Yes we did!

APTOPIX Obama 2008

Having invested as much time and energy – even money – into Barack Obama’s candidacy as I have over the past 18 months it’s hard not to wax sentimental after his historic victory last night. Even now, I’m not sure I can summarize everythiing I want to say about his historic campaign, and the excitement I feel about his upcoming time in office.

I’m proud of America this morning.

There is no mistaking that race was a factor in this election, and Obama’s ethnicity certainly motivated many Americans to support his candidacy – and some to oppose him. But when it was all said and done, the results showed that race was not as big a factor as many had feared it might be. As it turns out a black man can be elected President of the United States of America. I’m hoping every teacher in this city opens class with that reminder to students today.

I’m also proud to be an American this morning.

I’ve always been proud of my country. When we are at our best, we truly do have the potential to be that “beacon” to the rest of the world that we’ve heard so much about. But I’d be a liar if I didn’t also confess that my enthusiasm for that potential had been all but snuffed out in recent years.

One of the main reasons I supported Barrack Obama so fervently was that he reignited my passion for America. Admitedly, I was initially drawn in by his soaring rhetoric and lofty speeches about the greatness of America’s potential. But I was further motivated as I saw such a diverse range of people come on board in support of his candidacy. Three million people gave money to support Obama’s campaign, most of them giving less than $200 each. Countless others gave their support through whatever means they had accessible to them. It was “bottom up,” small and incremental. And after it gained momentum it became a movement.

America is a movement.

One thing I know for certain is that Obama’s presidency will not be perfect. He will make decisions I disagree with, and I’m sure he’ll dissapoint me from time to time. No candidate could ever possibly reach such lofty expectations as those that have been set before Obama as he heads into the Oval Office. But Obama’s campaign was never about how great he might be as President. All he ever talked about was how great we could be as a nation. And that is a movement I will gladly throw my weight behind whenever I’m asked.

54 thoughts on “Yes we did!

  1. he’s being handed a recession, hopefully there is no where to go but up right? 😉
    seriously though congrats, i hope you are as proud in 4 years, and i must say it will be nice to not have to listen to the media complain about the president anymore.
    and i am proud as well that a black man was elected. though i think he will be our most liberal president ever, it is awesome to see our country elect as a whole anyway, elect someone no matter what the color of his skin.

  2. Well said Shane! The weight of this moment in our history hit me this morning at Anna’s bus stop. Like it or not, America is a different place than it was when you went to bed last night.

    Politics aside, I am calling you all to pray for the man like you were the only one on earth praying for him. Not for his positions to match yours, but for his safety and that of his wife and especially his little girls. That they would be spared from hearing the ugly backlash and rhetoric that I am seeing and hearing all over the place today so they can just be proud that their daddy is the President-elect. Pray that our actions and words as Christians from this point on are filled with integrity and that in the ensuing days, months and years the best of who we are as people who know Jesus is what is on display. Pray that no acts of ill intent befall the man, especially if they are somehow intended to be done in the name of God.

  3. Congratulations, Shane! And it is a historic moment for America. For the first time in the history of the world, as far as we know, a majority-white country has chosen a black man to be our leader. That is an amazing and incredible thing. And for all the bitterness of the campaign, I hope and pray that there will be a smooth, orderly transition of power between parties, another hallmark of the beauties of America.

    I have strong reservations about an Obama presidency, as you well know, but I pray for his success and his health, and that God would grant him wisdom, courage, and humility as he takes one of the most influential offices in the world.

    I am glad that Obama reignited your passion for America. It’s a passion that I share, whether my party is in power or not. This is a great country, the kind of place where these kinds of miracles happen. My prayer is that a President Obama will not wind up making America just like all the other nations of the world, but will help preserve what makes America special. I have my doubts about that, but I guess that’s what’s fueling my prayers.

    Have a great day, and again – congratulations!

  4. right on timb!
    As much as I disagree with a bunch of his positions, I too am proud to be an American. We had a choice and this is our man, for better or worse. I agree that we should pray for his wisdom and safety.
    Off we go!

  5. I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone— for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.
    – 1 Timothy 2:1-2

    I’m happy to hear men and women of God echoing this sentiment today. Despite our political differences, this is who we are called to be. May God forgive me where I have fallen short of this call in the past, and may we move forward together in renewed commitment to God’s Word and Way above all.

    For those who are so inclined … In the spirit of prayer and accountability for the incoming administration, Jim Wallis has issued A Prayer & A Pledge for Real Change.

    And speaking of Wallis … I finally figured it out! Jim Wallis bears an uncanny resemblance to George the Animal Steele. 😆

  6. wow. that video is AMAZING! i just found a new favorite channel on youtube 🙂

    so i’m looking for an image of obama for ye olde bloog and i find the following fooishness – http://o.bamapost.com/

    if only you’d known, you could have changed your vote 😉

  7. Well I certainly hope all the liberals of the world are happy to get their pretty much no contest shot to make America whatever they can for at least 2 years. Trust me when you have no one else to point the finger at for all the problems that occur its a lot harder.

    I did really like his thoughts on the World Security though of all the things he could have said to make a person like me worry a little less that was it. I enjoyed both their speeches and I liked how this race ended up compared to some in the past where at least I actually think these two could get something done together.

    I will now get back to writing out checks to those who bought a house they couldn’t afford and or have to many kids to afford. Man I wish I would have know it could have paid off to slack in college. I wonder if I can convince myself its still charity even though I have to “give”

    Last thought was I wonder what people would have said if 97% of white people only voted for the white candidate?

  8. as someone who views the 2 party duopoly with nothing but contempt, i agree, it’ll be a nice change of pace to not have to hear everything targeted at the president or his administration (well, except from right wingers and conservatives). i tried to remind all my dyed in the wool democrat friends that since 2006 there’s been a dem majority in congress, and they’ve backed bush all the way – going back on everything they said to get into office and “takeover” congress – but it all falls on deaf ears.

    one thing though, my experience in life has been that i don’t know what it’s like to be anything than what i am. i’m a man of northern european descent, from a very small town in central maine, from a working class background. i dont’ feel like i have any right or can even begin to tell a black american how to feel, to say i can understand what it’s like to be black in america, or to view 97% of black voters the same way as “white” voters. i don’t know the %, but i’m sure the vaaaast majority of catholics voted for JFK. and irish americans, too. i’m not saying it’s “right”, but there’s a really dark and disturbing history for black people in this country, and it’s real. it’s not fiction. and though the president might be half-black, the average black person in america will still have the same life and have to deal with the same problems, that i believe i just don’t have to b/c i’m not in their skin. white priviledge exists, whether we not to accept it or not. as does white guilt. i don’t know…i want to move beyond race-by-color division in this nation, but we have to accept all the horrible things that race-by-color blumenbachianism has done.

  9. oh Pdog, let Shane enjoy his day!

    something else that is interesting to me is that even though he is being preached as the man to unify, it’s still clear that over 50 million votes went the other way.
    add to that what looks like a very liberal government swing about to happen i see nothing but more polarization. remember, as much as this vote was for Obama, it was also sort of a blank check for Nancy Pelosi and the like….we’ll see.

  10. i would hope and think that finally the dems will stop pointing fingers, thought they might once they got control of the congress, but they won’t, let’s be honest. they will blame bush for a few more years as long as they can get away with it!

  11. I thought obama speech was amazing…might have even considered voting for him had he talked like that before (in my opinion)…
    I do want to point out on MNF in his interiew he stuttered as much as bush does….
    it make sense to me that he won…past 4yrs bush has not done very well and so power changes hands and they get a shot….
    but remember he is just the president not the saviour (not to sound to pastoral)
    personally i was shocked how close the popular vote was…

    More good news prop 8 passed

  12. yeah i agree with ryan, one would think after how much people seem to abhor bush (or at least that is what the polls say) mccain would have gotten obliterated. he did pretty well considering, no prize for second though!
    and i am also with ryan in what i keep saying, obama might be a great guy, and might even do ok as president, but there is no real hope in him. hope is in Him alone.
    that’s called a religious wet blanket! 😉

  13. ok just saw he named emanuel his chief of staff, now correct me if i am wrong but i am pretty sure he’s jewish. i swear i could hear the arabs all screaming from across the atlantic, we thought obama was a muslim! i am thinking ahmanajad is rethinking how he feels about him too!

  14. dude, emanuel is a really energetic, passionate (insert: crazy) guy from what i read. and he is most definitely a committed Jewish man. this is gonna be interesting.

  15. i think that the fact that the dems swept into congress in ’06 and followed through on none of their promises shows that it really doesn’t matter. pelosi is good for nothing but hot air. she swore up & down the war would be ended as a result of ’06, but it’s only escalated. the patriot act was renewed by nearly all of congress and W and his administration continued doing whatever they wanted. people worried about obama and the democratic congress are getting too worked up, imo. time will show, this man is a centrist. just like clinton. one thing i can guarantee is that he & the dems won’t make this nation more left then bush & the GOP made it right.

    he’s not the antichrist & he’s not the messiah. he’s just another politician in the pockets of corporate interest. breathe in, breathe out. the sun rises & it sets.

  16. So many things to comment on… that’s what I get for stepping away from my desk! 😆

    I will now get back to writing out checks to those who … have to many kids to afford.

    We’ve got two we can’t really afford. Even made the conscious decision to have another after we knew we could barely afford the first one. Thanks in advance for your support. I’ll be sure to send them your love. 😆

    I wonder what people would have said if 97% of white people only voted for the white candidate?

    I’ve actually been thinking alot about this lately. While I’m not so naive as to think that there wasn’t some racial bias amongst blacks, I also don’t think that such a high percentage would necessarily be an indicator of that bias.

    According to this article, Lyndon Johnson got 94% of the black vote. Clinton got 82% and 84% respectively. Gore received 90% of the black vote in 2004. If there’s one thing EVERYONE knows, it’s that blacks vote Democrat.

    The final numbers aren’t in for Obama, but most don’t expect it to top 95%. If that holds true it would indicate a 5-10% bump more than it would point toward sweeping racial bias. If it were a black Republican candidate that got 95% of the black vote, then that would be something!

    something else that is interesting to me is that even though he is being preached as the man to unify, it’s still clear that over 50 million votes went the other way.

    Barack Obama received about 53% of the vote. People to this day – particularly on the right – talk about what a great unifier Ronald Reagan was. Yet he only received 50.7% of the vote in his first term, and 58.8% the next.

    Two things I take from that:

    A) Maybe we should let the guy have, oh, I don’t know … a day on the job before we start talking about his inability to unify the country?

    B) Even as one of the greatest unifiers in our nation’s history, Reagan still couldn’t convince over 40% of voters to vote for him. Maybe popular vote isn’t the best barometer as there will always be a die hard group of folks who fold their arms, turn up their nose and say “Hmpf” no matter who is in office.

    i would hope and think that finally the dems will stop pointing fingers, thought they might once they got control of the congress, but they won’t, let’s be honest. they will blame bush for a few more years as long as they can get away with it!

    Let’s try not to be too ironic as we point fingers at the Democrats for pointing fingers at the Republicans shall we? I’m not too far removed from the Clinton presidency to remember the giant vats of boiling snake venom that were dumped all over him during his administration by the Republicans (especially by Evangelical conservatives). Everyone points fingers at the other guy. Always have, always will. It’s only going to be about three more months before you start doing it to Obama and the rest of the Democrats. (Although, in your comments you basically already are).

    but remember he is just the president not the saviour (not to sound to pastoral)

    Nobody here disagrees with that or has ever stated otherwise. Can we please lay this to rest already? And can we especially not spell Savior with a “u”???

  17. my point was not his inability shane. my point is that 50 million people voted in opposition to him. that’s a hard stat to overcome is all. geez.

    and dude, don’t pick on people’s spelling and grammar mistakes. it’s just condescending.

    and for the record:
    4 dictionary results for: saviour
    Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1) – Cite This Source –
    sav⋅ior
       /ˈseɪvyər/ Show Spelled Pronunciation [seyv-yer] Show IPA Pronunciation
    –noun
    1. a person who saves, rescues, or delivers: the savior of the country.
    2. (initial capital letter) a title of God, esp. of Christ.
    3. (initial capital letter) Classical Mythology. an epithet of Artemis.
    Also, saviour.

  18. My only point was that I’m not Canadian!

    Seriously, I quit. This place used to be fun. I’m tired of everyone taking everything so damn serious and personal.

    All my posts … I’m always joking around. I get so sick of bickering with people who should know that by now.

  19. I do think it’s funny that Jess thinks Obama’s going to be our “most liberal president ever” (which, by the way, isn’t exactly a curse word to about half of the country). But Tim can’t stop complaining about how much of a “centrist” he is (which by the way, isn’t exactly a curse word to the overwhelming majority of the country). The guy can’t win for tryin’.

    See Jim. He’s uniting already. People on the far side of either aisle already don’t like him! 😆

  20. Of course, by that rationale you could make the case that George W. Bush is the greatest uniter in presidential history, since 75% of the country thinks he’s a lousy president.

  21. How to be the most liberal President ever
    By Barack Obama

    Chapter 1: Now that you’ve won the election, your first step is to piss off as many died in the wool liberals as possible by appointing centrist who has a rep for ruffling liberal feathers by championing typically conservative causes as your chief of staff. It would be ideal if he were pro-Israel. If you can actually land a Jew, that’d be great too. Ten extra points if he formerly served with the Israeli military. Twenty extra points if somewhere on his report card it says “Has great report with Republicans.”

    Obama wants Emanuel for chief of staff

    Emanuel’s first big assignment in Clinton’s White House was helping pass the North American Free Trade Agreement, which riled many Democrats. He was a consistent voice for anti-crime measures, welfare reform and other initiatives that pushed against liberal orthodoxy.

    In his personal views, he’s a centrist, and despite a combative political style, he has good relations with many congressional Republicans, such as Rep. Adam Putnam (R-Fla.).

    It’s going to be really interesting to see what kind of team he puts together in the coming weeks.

  22. i think bush peaked at 77% 🙂

    and apparently only 13% of african americans voted…i’m fairly certain that’s what cnn said. so, 13% of a group that makes up less than 10% of the american population. i was half asleep so the 13% could be way off.

    and my complaints about him being a centrist are based on me being sick to death of all my so-called fellow progressives thinking obama is the greatest thing since tecmo bowl. he’s not progressive, that’s the jist of my ranting. i’m not saying it against him, i’m saying it b/c i’m ready to start hitting uninformed people in the head!

    smile butrose 🙂

  23. Anyway… I had to be up at 5:30 this morning, so I crashed last night after OH and PA were announced. I just caught the acceptance speech on CNN this afternoon.

    I am not a patriotic person. I’ve always been grateful for my citizenship, but have looked at it as secondary to my faith and my values. Today though, I am encouraged and hopeful that as a country we may once again become a great nation to both the people in our own borders and to those abroad.

    I’m not expecting a revolution, but I do believe very much that Obama is the genuine article and he speaks with conviction and honesty that will carry into his presidency and make him a great leader of this country.

  24. i think they said 113% tim! 🙂
    and just for the record, not saying emanuel was a bad pick, just that 98% of the arab world just went from loving him to hating him like that!

  25. and to shane, he served in a civilian volunteer unit in Israel as far as I can tell…not the actual army. apparently there was a fight a few years back about him having dual citizenship because he served in Israel’s army.
    either way he was way closer to war in Israel than I would ever like to be.

  26. I didn’t say he served in the army. Just said “with the military.” Hadn’t investigated to what extent yet. (Can’t even find the article I took that from now for some reason).

    Anyway … So, thumbs up or down on his first move as President-elect?

    One of the things that’s going to be interesting is how Obama is going to have to be selective with the people he appoints. He doesn’t want to pluck too many of the finest from his majority in Congress, so he may have to look outside of Washington for some key roles.

  27. In a shocking twist of events he is thinking about our 8th district long term congressman for Secretary of Agriculture which would be a big thing for MN.

  28. wish I could edit too Jimmy Carter must have been a great uniter as well since his approval ratings were as low 😦 It all goes in cycles which is something we can be thankful for. (except Tim who is not thankful for anything)

    The first pick was to appease the warmongers like me that would rather be proactive in our defense rather than reactive. Hell a guy who for the start of his campaign said absolute withdrawl etc actually pretended to be tough in his acceptance speech last night with the rest of the world!

    In my not so humble very boorish opinion this is a good pick for someone to counter you a bit inside your own house. What I mean is he would be foolish to just make sure every thought that comes to his or his boss Nancy’s head quickly goes through.

  29. well, not to be unthankful, which i apparently am incapable of helping (news to me, i spend about 30 minutes a day thanking God for various things, but i’m just a bitter bastard, so whatevs), but i say thumbs way down on first move. that’s from a progressive POV. now, as far as whether it’s a smart move by him, absolutely. he’s showing all the people booing at the mccain rally (i love when mccain’s supporters would frustrate him) that he’s not a terrorist loving muslim antichrist. so, it’s a good political move.

    and why was jesse jackson crying and now so happy for obama? he wanted to cut the man’s goods off! that’s messed up!

  30. Jesse was crying because it wasnt him. He was also sad that his riches will now be taxed more. I couldnt be more cynical about all of this so I shall say no more.

    Praying that I wont be saying I told you so and praying that I wont enjoy it if I do have to say it.

  31. another thing: keep this up Shane it is a place i get to express the NJ in me w/o Californians thinking I am ridiculous…only east-coaster can think that….

  32. “Seriously, I quit. This place used to be fun. I’m tired of everyone taking everything so damn serious and personal.”

    Buy a box.

    🙂

  33. the only thing about the choice that is funny to me is that Obama is all about change, change change.
    and the first guy he picks for anything (well besides old school Joe Biden) is a guy who used to work for Clinton!?
    I don’t know. Just seems a little odd. But hey, I’m sure I could find something wrong with any of his picks…and I don’t even listen to conservative radio.

  34. Wait. Did a youth pastor just tell someone else to “get a real job?” I kid, I kid. 😆

    While I’m certainly no fan of Jesse Jackson, I also can’t bring myself to downplay what must have been going through his head on election night.

    The guy was by Dr. King’s side when he was murdered, and (like his style or not) has devoted his entire life’s work to being a civil rights activist.. Now he’s heading into his twilight years and was able to see the culmination of what he helped start in Selma some 45 years ago in person on election night.

    I’m sure some of it was him mourning the fact that his friend Dr. King couldn’t be there to see it for himself. Some of it was gratitude. Some of it was pride for what he helped accomplish. Some of it was sentiment over passing the torch to a new generation of “black leaders.”

    Like I said. I’m not a fan. But the guy has more than earned the right to shed a tear.

  35. I had seen it. I thought it was pretty funny but opted not to post it here as I could easily predict the next 40 comments.

    But one thing that was really funny that I just noticed is the disclaimer at the end.

    “The views expressed in this short film are solely those of the individual providing them and DO NOT REFLECT THE OPINIONS OF ANHEUSER-BUSCH COS. INC.”

    That’s way funnier than the typical CYA disclaimer because Hensley & Co. – the multi-million dollar company Cindy McCain inherited from her father – is the biggest distributor of AB products.

  36. congrats to presidnet elect obama and his supporters.

    we’ll be praying for him and the country. (we had a prayer meeting last night)

    my advice to all the conservatives evangelicals out there: pray for the guy. it doens’t do any good to be bitter or to stand poised to pounce on his first blunder. let’s give him the respect due the office and the grace we would expect for our choice had he won.

  37. i concur that he deserves more respect because we are followers of Jesus, not less.
    and with how I feel President Bush was treated, it’s an example people need to see and feel.

  38. Nyack College President Michael G. Scales issued the following statement about our nation’s presidential election.

    Tuesday, November 4, 2008, was truly a momentous occasion.

    In one sense, it was the culmination of a long, hard-fought political campaign. Every four years we go through this. We, the American people, select the most powerful leader of this most powerful nation on earth. With so much at stake, it is no wonder that the contest is hard fought. This year was no different in the intensity of the contest. This year will once again exhibit our greatness because there will be a peaceful transition of power.

    Yet we all know this year’s election is different. Both contestants are honorable men. One is a former POW who invested his life in the service of his country. The other is the first African American on the top of the ticket. Indeed, he is the first minority to receive his party’s nomination.

    At the culmination, each contestant spoke to his supporters. Anyone with a semblance of an open mind could see and hear that both of these men personify the character and greatness of America. Both men called for unity.

    One exhibited great leadership by stating that he alone takes full responsibility for his loss—no finger pointing. Further, he pledged full support for the winner of the contest. And he asked all Americans to do the same.

    The winner of the contest spoke to the hopes and dreams of people all around the world. I am just old enough to vaguely and sadly remember a segregated south. It is both breathtaking and awe-inspiring to now see an African American elected as our 44th president. Further, President-elect Obama implied, “I can do it and you can too!” Yes, we can…make a better world. His words and his life give people hope even “to those who are huddled around radios in the forgotten corners of our world.”

    Therefore in another sense, Election Day 2008 was both the culmination of a centuries-old struggle and the dawning of a new day for America and the world. The creative spirit is alive and well in America. We are continuously re-inventing ourselves. We can be the “city set on a hill.”

    With this contest over, I am reminded of Abraham Lincoln’s second inaugural address. He quoted scripture by saying, “…so still it must be said, “the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.”

    A new contest begins. Our role, as followers of Jesus, is to pray and to support our government officials—the ones who lead today and the ones of the new administration to come.

    Please pray for President-elect Barack Obama, his administration, and may God bless America.

Leave a Reply

