Turkey, Stuffing and Over the Rhine… A Little Thanksgiving Treat

Just in time for Thanksgiving, a new performance by Over the Rhine has been posted to Archive.org. You can listen to the stream, or download it in its entirety.

During some audience banter Linford shares a story about a time recently when he played an impromptu concert for a group of retirees that consisted of nothing but old hymns (I would have sold my first born to be in that audience!). He offers some candid thoughts on hymns and the “off the wall singing” in newer churches. Then they play my absolute favorite Over the Rhine song. Both are well worth clicking “play” below.

Linford Banter & Trumpet Child Intro

The Trumpet Child

8 thoughts on “Turkey, Stuffing and Over the Rhine… A Little Thanksgiving Treat

  1. The Trumpet Child

    The trumpet child will blow his horn
    Will blast the sky till it’s reborn
    With Gabriel’s power and Satchmo’s grace
    He will surprise the human race

    The trumpet he will use to blow
    Is being fashioned out of fire
    The mouthpiece is a glowing coal
    The bell a burst of wild desire

    The trumpet child will riff on love
    Thelonious notes from up above
    He’ll improvise a kingdom come
    Accompanied by a different drum

    The trumpet child will banquet here
    Until the lost are truly found
    A thousand days, a thousand years
    Nobody knows for sure how long

    The rich forget about their gold
    The meek and mild are strangely bold
    A lion lies beside a lamb
    And licks a murderer’s outstretched hand

    The trumpet child will lift a glass
    His bride now leaning in at last
    His final aim to fill with joy
    The earth that man all but destroyed

  2. I’ve never heard them til now. I’ve seen your posts, but not ever heard them. Skipper will seriously LOVE them! She has that Etta James thing going. He hasn’t heard of them as far as I know, so this will be a spiffy Christmas gift for him! How long have they been around?

  3. Buy these two albums for him for Christmas and I promise you won’t regret it!

    Snow Angels – Their latest Christmas CD. You can hear the entire thing here. You’ll melt.

    Trumpet Child – Their latest and jazziest release to date.

    And to answer your question they’ve been releasing music for 20 years. They’ve released 18 albums to date, and Linford has three piano instrumental albums as well.

  4. I just got him Trumpet Child from Amazon for 13.99. it should be here Dec 4!! I’m excited!!!

    I’ll have to chechkout snow angel as I’m folding laundry later.

    Glad you posted this!

  5. I listened to Snow Angels as I did laundry & other house work today and two words came to mind: sultry & calming. I was paying close attention to the lyrics which I sometimes glaze over when I already like a tune, but this time I listened and these people have “food” for thought ideas.

    Yes, I should have taken heed to your OTR posts sooner instead of shrugging them off 😉

Leave a Reply

