Bonnie M. Bertou (1954-2008)

My mother passed away on December 27th from a pneumonia related infection in her lungs. She was 54.

On behalf of my family, I want to say “thank you” to everyone for their love and support during what was a very difficult time for us all. There were close to 400 people who paid their respects during her calling hours, and another couple hundred attended her funeral. Words cannot express what your presence, kind words, stories, emails, comments, voicemails, meals, flowers, cards, texts and generosity have meant to us. We are truly humbled and grateful.

Below is what I shared at my mother’s funeral. It was a difficult day for all of us, but I was honored to be asked to pay tribute to her.

We love you mom. We’re going to miss you like crazy.

23 thoughts on “Bonnie M. Bertou (1954-2008)

  1. Hurting with you today and really at a loss for words. You guys are a little closer to my heart in a lot of ways right now. My friend shared some thoughts from I Peter 5:10 where we are promised the darkness only lasts for a while and then God will strengthen us. The darkness is the hardest but that’s where we as friends and family need to step up. Let me know what you need and it’s done… Love you guys…

  2. Shane,

    I am so so sorry. I cannot imagine what you are going through. Please call us if you need anything at all. Matt and I and our church family will be praying for you and your family.

  3. Shane and Family,
    I just heard via email from Tim. I’m so sorry and can’t imagine what you are feeling right now. Please know that we are praying for you and your family. Anything you need please let me know.

    Heather

  4. I just wanted to stop by and say thank you to everyone for the kind words, emails, comments, voicemails, texts, cards, etc, etc.

    I’m sorry I can’t get to everyone individually, but please know I’m deeply touched by the outpouring of support.

    The family is doing pretty well, all things considered. We’ve been helping my dad make arrangements and begin to sift through all the business he’ll have to deal with in the coming weeks and months.

    Thanks again. I’ll be back on over the weekend to chat some more.

  5. Shane and Cheryl,

    I am soo very sorry to hear about the loss of your mother! I will keep you in my prayers! I love you both so very much!! *HUG*

    Love,
    Stephanie

  6. I worked with your Mom; and for a short while was her supervisor at NWCH. I remember what a delight she was to work with. She was friendly, honest, committed, and most of all, she always treated her patients and coworkers like family. Be proud; and take comfort knowing that she had touched the lives of thousands…

    My deepest regrets,

    Mark Daniels

  7. Thanks Mike.

    Mom always asked about you and your ticker. So I want to pass along the same assurances to you that we did all her Cardiac Rehab patients and let you know that it was completely UNRELATED to her heart.

    I don’t know if that helps anything, but keep fighting the good fight man.

  8. that was beautiful to hear. i have no idea how you kept your head about you so well. my grandfather died when i was exactly josiah’s age. tough time, but i wanted to tell you i totally remember him and how he played with us, etc.

  9. Son of a gun. I wish I had done this. When I spoke at my dad’s funeral last year, I spoke without any notes. Since then, many people have told me how much my words meant to them, but I can’t remember what I said, because I didn’t write any of it down. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

