Free summer concert checklist: 2009

Yup. It’s that time of year again. When the weather turns sunny and the free concerts come rolling through Rochester (and Buffalo). It’s always an eclectic mix of has beens, up and comers and a few of my personal faves.  This year’s no different.

After a quick gander at all the festival websites, he’s my hit list. There are sure to be additions later on as some of the bands the city of Rochester is bringing in haven’t been announced (rumors of Rusted Root).  I’ll probably only make it to about 25% of them, but it’s nice to have options. 😆

6/11 – Dickey Betts and Great Southern
6/13 – Blues Traveler
6/18 – Cracker, Old 97s
6/25 – Medeski, Martin & Wood
6/26 – Medeski, Martin & Wood
7/9 – Average White Band
7/16 – Michael Franti & Spearhead
7/16 – George Clinton & Parliament/Funkadelic
7/19 – The Black Crowes
7/23 – Neko Case
7/30 – Rusted Root, Danielia Cotton
8/1 – Martin Sexton
8/2 – Gov’t Mule
8/6 – Gov’t Mule
8/27 – Sara Evans
9/4 – The Wallflowers, Tea Leaf Green
9/4 – Switchfoot

12 thoughts on “Free summer concert checklist: 2009

  1. Neko is indeed good. I paid good money to see her in Ithaca last month. I haven’t seen Cracker in a while, so that would be fun too.

    Where is switchfoot playing? Will Holler Wild Rose still be playing with them? Hmm….

  2. Switchfoot is playing the NY State Fair in Syracuse. For free (minus the fair entry price). But for me, (even w/ Jon Foreman and despite the fact that I’ve already seen them) they lose out to The Wallflowers. Especially with my “new found” respect for Tea Leaf Green

  3. don’t miss martin. we saw him last year and i think it might have been the most entertaining concert i have ever been to.

  4. Man, I saw Cracker years ago—my first concert—with Gin Blossoms and Spin Doctors. They were SO good. I’m gonna go to that one for sure.

  5. i just noticed the black crowes are on the free to see list. they were in prov and charging $50 a ticket! what do they think this is, 1994?!?! i’d definately see them for free…i’d probably see all of ’em 🙂 but neko is a MUST!

  6. I tend not to go to the East End Fests that much. I’m not a particular fan of the crowd (I’m too old and grumpy), and the bands tend to be local/regional acts.

    But the lineups have been announced. As you might expect Uncle Plum and Big Eyed Phish are playing a couple times. Here’s the rest:

    http://www.eastendmusicfestival.com/music.php

    Nice to see Diggler’s Bridge in this year’s lineup. I like Dan.

Leave a Reply

