We’re entering a film contest!

Some of you may remember that, back in July, Don Miller sent me an advanced copy of his latest book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. It was a book that I really enjoyed reading and have since passed on to others.

Don’s book really challenged me to consider the type of story I was telling with my life, and to make changes that would help me tell an even better one. It also helped me realize that, as a parent, it should be my passion to help my children tell the best story possible with their own lives. I have also come to understand that the best stories – those that would have the most meaningful and lasting impact on their lives – are the stories that we tell together.

For me, this line of thinking has been one of the driving forces behind our work with Josiah and Friends.

On Friday, Don announced a short film contest on his blog. He is encouraging anyone who has read his book and has decided to tell an interesting story with their life to make a film about it and submit it. The winner will receive $1,000!

Josiah and I talked about it over the weekend and we’ve decided to make a film about our story. We’re hoping that it might inspire others, especially parents and children, to write great stories with their own lives. If we win, we’re going to donate the prize money to Manute Bol’s school building project.

The voting will start in April. We’re definitely going to need everyone’s support and votes if we’re going to have any chance at winning. We’ll be sure to keep you all posted as the contest gets closer. But for now, we’re off to make our film!

Leave a Reply

