Is blogging dead?

An article in this morning’s New York Times outlines how social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter have caused many people to turn away from blogging as a way of expressing themselves to a global internet audience.

Many former bloggers have grown frustrated with a lack of traffic and dialogue on their blogs and are instead choosing to post content elsewhere. Why spend time crafting a lengthy post on a blog when 140 characters and a link to an article leads to more interaction elsewhere.

This is something I’ve been thinking a lot about over the past several months in relation to my own blog. At its peak, this blog was getting over 7,000 hits per month. But traffic has plummeted over the past year. I’ve often wondered if this is due to how infrequently I’m posting these days, or if the medium is slowly becoming obsolete.

With social networking tools becoming increasingly popular and easier to use it begs the question: Is blogging dead? Or does it still have its place in the world of social media?

10 thoughts on “Is blogging dead?

  1. I think that those who haven’t embraced RSS for reading blogs no longer check them out on their own. We are used to having content delivered to our social networking sites automatically. I do not think the blog is dead for more serious writers, but rather social media is replacing blogs for those who are much less frequent with their posts.

    As long as people are writing interesting content on their blogs, I’ll continue to read via google reader.

    As a person who blogs infrequently, I don’t depend on having thousands of page views on my posts. I can depend on Facebook and Twitter to re-post my blogs when I do get around to writing them so at least people who know me there can follow.

  2. It’s interesting that you bring this up. Just this morning I was thinking I should not use the blog for missions trips and other things anymore because of people’s attention span being so short now.
    There are those who will protest and say that “no, we like to read a lot of text”…but they are also the same ones who complain about “why do I have to register online for something. what happened to good old fashioned paper!?”
    So, I agree that short bursts of information is more widely read and better for communicating information to many people in one place. (And as someone who believes in the spreading of the Kingdom of Jesus it reinforces the idea that story and true relationships are becoming more and more necessary for “evangelism” [as they should] as opposed to the days of Case for Christ and so on.)

  3. The downside of relying too heavily on “short bursts of information” is how short the lifespan of a Tweet or Facebook post is. Even though you might be delivering information directly to someone versus making them come to you, and interacting with the info can be as easy as clicking “Like,” there is a very narrow window of opportunity for that Facebook post, Tweet, etc, to be seen.

    Blogging still has some advantages. Stories can be archived and can come up in searches. They aren’t there for an instant and then virtually irretrievable at a later time. Which also provides a better platform for more in-depth discussion.

    I think the most effective web storytellers find a way to incorporate both and play their strengths to support each other.

  4. I’ve found Facebook and Twitter to be the best platforms for getting my blog posts out there. I’ll Tweet a link to the original blog post, which will then post on Facebook. So while I’m utilizing the benefits of Twitter and Facebook, I’m still keeping the original blog form.

  5. A few ways:

    1) I blogged frequently and on a wide variety of topics.

    2) I tagged my posts.

    3) I found others out there who were blogging on similar topics and interacted with them regularly.

    But probably the biggest factor:

    4) WordPress’ Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is superior to most other blog services.

  6. I’ve noticed the drop of hits as well. I’ve also been frustrated by the lack of dialogue and that most of the comments spammers. I have started blogging more. This week I’ve gone back following tags on the posts I’ve written to new blogs and commenting. My hits have increased greatly.

    As for the end of blogging. I’ve been blogging in one form or another since 1996, even the old Geocities version of The Dee Zone was a blog (before I knew it was called a blog.)

Leave a Reply

