Love Wins: A Community Dialog

Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past couple of weeks you have no doubt caught wind of the firestorm of controversy that surrounds Rob Bell’s new book Love Wins. In his latest release, Bell addresses traditional ideas about Heaven and Hell and asks his readers: “Will only a few select people make it to Heaven? And will billions and billions of people burn forever in Hell?”

Even though the book has yet to be released, the questions Rob Bell has raised have set off a firestorm of criticism around the internet. Justin Taylor labeled Bell a “Universalist” while John Piper appeared to write off Bell as a Christian altogether. No matter where you turn it seems as though someone has something to say despite the fact that no one has actually read the book.

I want to change that.

If you are planning to read Bell’s book, I want to invite you to participate in an online community book discussion. We’ll kick things off on March 15th – the book’s official release date. I’m not sure how we’ll coordinate it (probably a new blog post for each chapter or section). But I can tell you that this discussion will be moderated and will only be open to those who are reading (or have already read) Bell’s book.

If you’re interested please feel free to pre-order the book so you’ll have it by the time we begin.

8 thoughts on “Love Wins: A Community Dialog

  1. I plan on reading that book. I’m very much non-reformed (even anti-reformed on my least charitable days), and I kind of stopped believing in hell a few years ago.

    I love my Kindle!!

  2. So, I’m 50 pages into the book. So far I have three non-spoiler observations:

    1. The first 25 pages were in his initial “Love Wins” sermon over 5 years ago

    2. It’s eerily similar in content (not style) to Chesterton’s Orthodoxy.

    3. He’s still pretty good at breaking down complex theological thoughts into consumable chunks, which I like in person but always chafes at me slightly on paper. I know I’m probably not the target audience (growing up on Lewis and the like) but there you go.

    I would hope that the Mars Hill community is talking over this book! One of the best things about participating in that community is that you are constantly asked not to just swallow anyones sermons, but to question and to find out what question to answer the questions with…

Leave a Reply

