The 12 Tunes of Christmas – Day 5


Alright, I’ll admit it, I have a soft spot for Michael Bublé. My wife started listening to him a couple of years ago when she heard him crooning away on some old Sinatra tune on our local jazz station. His songs have been a part of our regular rotation ever since.

He put out a Christmas album this year that has been one of the best selling records of the season. My favorite song on the album is his version of Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You.” The original is one of the worst songs ever recorded, but I really like Bublé’s ballad rendition. He somehow managed to make a terrible song something I’d actually put on the countdown.

All I Want for Christmas is You – Michael Bublé

3 thoughts on “The 12 Tunes of Christmas – Day 5

  1. Pretty good version. I know you’ve harped on it before, but I’m not convinced that’s autotune in the middle. Definitely a “r&b/hiphop style” harmony, but he could have recorded every part. Then again, what a waste of time for two-three words. Just autotune the two seconds and move on. Good song either way, and no slight on his talent in my book. =)

  2. It’s possible I’m wrong. It sounds unmistakable to my ears, but I recently read an article where he basically chastised the industry for using autotune. He even went so far to say that it is “ruining music.”

    Seems like a ballsy thing to say if it was used on this album. Maybe I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt.

Leave a Reply

