placetable

A Place at the Table: Chapter 2 – Miracle Bread

We have some great conversation going on right now based on the first chapter of the book. Thanks to everyone who has taken part so far.

Now it’s time to move on to the second chapter, titled “Miracle Bread.” In it Chris Seay discusses the time the Israelites spent wandering the desert and how God provided “manna” for them to eat. But they soon grew tired eating the same thing every day and began to complain.

Here are a couple of discussion questions based on chapter two of the book:

1) “Certainly, our relationship with food is a unique window into our soul.”

How would you describe your relationship with food? Are you a foodie who prefers the finer things? Are you over-indulgent and subject to your desires? Does your relationship to food affect other areas of your life?

2) Chris talks about the convenience of food in America. Not only is there an abundance of choice, but everything is delivered to us packaged and ready for consumption. Do these conveniences hurt your ability to appreciate God’s provision?

6 thoughts on “A Place at the Table: Chapter 2 – Miracle Bread

  1. The questions today, especially about convinence, make me think about my year on internship. While I definitely was FAR from starving, there were plenty of times I had to get creative with my cooking. It would have been SO much easier at times to grab a quick meal from Wendy’s when working late some evening, but I also realized that one (small) meal at a fast food restaurant was the equivalent of almost half my weekly grocery budget. As I think about it, some of the random kitchen concoctions that came out of figuring what in the world to do with the random items left in my pantry at the end of a month ended up being some of my favorite meals. I realize now that they were probably my favorite simply because it was SO obvious that the food was provision straight from God. Sometimes I really didn’t know where the money came from for all that I needed, nor how I was able to eat so well on such a small grocery budget, but not once did I go hungry. God provides… but sometimes it takes a little effort on our part.

    (I think I’m going to like having this place each day to come and reflect with some questions to help that process along with others who are joining on this journey. Thank you for doing this!)

    1. Thanks for sharing. I’ve personally never really had a time in my life when I had to think about eating “bare bones” as a cost saving measure. I’ve always been able to eat whatever I want, whenever I want. I did spend some time in Africa, where food choices were of course limited, but other than that I’ve never had to think about it.

      I think one of the reasons this exercise will be good for me is that it will force me into the mundane. I still have money, and a car and stores, so everything the world has to offer with regard to food is accessible to me. But by committing to this “fast” (I’m still struggling with that term) I will be forced to live as if I had no choice. I’m fascinated by the prospects.

  2. After Hurricane Katrina, I traveled several times with teams, to Pearlington, MS – considered Ground Zero after the storm. Even years after the storm, there were no stores, no restaurants in town. Each day at lunch, all the volunteers, and some weeks there were many, would convene at the fellowship hall of the First Missionary Baptist Church. At 11:30am, we would hold hands in a circle and prayed…Presbyterians, Lutherans, Methodists, and more all together. We even stood with members of a local prison work team, and we prayed with thanksgiving. The ladies of the church treated us to amazing homemade bayou fare. We were there to help them and we were the ones being blessed. This ideal of a community, prayerfully eating and lifting it all up to the Lord has never left me. I want to recapture this in my everyday life. This devotional reminds me of this time. I look forward to beginning this journey.

  3. I like food. 🙂 And I like convenience, too! Before we had kids, my husband and I would go out to eat – or get fast food – fairly frequently. Now we are more disciplined (we have half the income and twice the people), and we find that we don’t even like a lot of the foods we used to ingest. It’s greasy, heavy, and not very filling. And when we go out somewhere with good food, we enjoy it so much more because it’s a rarity. We are definitely more appreciative.

    What joyfullyblessed said above resonates with me too – the idea that, when we have less, it’s easier to see God’s provision. That concept and the themes in this book make me dream about the ideal – where *all* of us are able to see our blessings as provisions from God, not works of our own hands.

Leave a Reply

