Greatest Simpson promotion ever!

To promote the release of The Simpsons Movie the folks at Fox and the 7-Eleven convenience store chain have teamed up to create what has to be the greatest promotional stunt ever!

A handful of 7-Eleven stores around the country are getting a facelift. The stores are changing logos and color schemes to resemble the Kwik-E-Mart stores from the show. But that’s not even the coolest part. The locations are also offering products found in the fictional convenience store’s shelves such as Krusty O’s, Squishees and Buzz Cola! (What, no Duff?)

This definitely has to be one of the most inventive (and expensive) publicity gimmicks I’ve ever heard of. I just wish one of the transformed locations were anywhere near Rochester so I could visit one. I’ve dreamed my whole life of hearing a pot-bellied Indian dude say, “Thank you, come again!”

4 thoughts on “Greatest Simpson promotion ever!

  1. I saw the Kwik-E-Mart in L.A. while I was there, but there was a huge line in front so we didn’t bother going in.

    At Comicon Matt Groening said he went to one and stood in line, unnoticed, and bought some Krusty-O’s.

  2. Speaking of the R2D2 promotion…

    I hadn’t heard anything about it previously. Then a few days ago I’m driving through downtown Rochester and noticed R2D2 out of the corner of my eye. I nearly drove into a group of pedestrians waiting to cross the street!

    Thanks for reminding me to go get some pics taken with it before it goes away!

  3. LOL.
    We heard about it on SWAN–Star Wars Action News. Consider yourself lucky to see one. The mailboxes are in limited production. One concern they ahd about the boxes is they might be stolen.

Leave a comment