Homebrew Recipes: Nut Brown Ale

Ingredients:
Hopped Light Malt Extract – 1 can
Light Dried Malt Extract – 1 lb.
Amber Dried Malt Extract – 1 lb.
Special Dark Brown Sugar – 1 lb.
Grains: Chocolate, Dark Crystal & Roaster Barley*
Hop Pellets – 1 oz.
Ale Yeast – 1 pack
Priming Sugar – 5 oz.

Starting Gravity: 1.049-1.051
Final Gravity: 1.012-1.014
Approx. Alch. by Vol.: 4.8%

Brewing:

  • Remove the label from the can of malt extract, wash the can and place into a pot of hot water to soften the syrup.
  • Place 1-1 1/2 gallons of water in the brewpot and bring to a boil.
  • Turn the heat off. Place all grains in a seeping bag, and seep in the hot water for 20-30 minutes. Then remove and discard the spent grains, and bring water to a boil.
  • Turn heat off. Stir the water with a long handled spoon while slowly pouring in the malt extract. Continue stirring while you add the dried malt extracts and the dark brown sugar. Stir until dissolved, then bring water to a boil. Note: When it first boils, the mixture will foam. Reduce heat and foam will subside. Turn heat back on and repeat process until foaming stops. Boil for 45 minutes, adding the hop pellets for the final 2 minutes of the boil.
  • Place 3 gallons of cold water into your fermenting bucket, and slowly add the hot mixture. Top off with cold water to 5 gallons.

Fermentation:

  • Allow the mixture (called wort) to cool to 90 degrees F.
  • Sprinkle the yeast over the top of the mixture. (Optional: Allow to sit for 10 minutes and then stir wort gently with 1 or 2 strokes of a long-handled spoon.
  • Seal fermenting bucket, and allow wort to sit for 2 weeks before bottling.

Bottling:

  • In a small saucepan, heat 1 cup of water and the priming sugar. Mix until dissolved and bring water to a boil.
  • Siphon beer from fermenting bucket to the bottling bucket. Slowly add the warm sugar mixture. As the bucket fills the mixture should mix thoroughly.
  • Don’t allow the siphoning hose to pick up sediment from the bottom of the fermenting bucket, leave 2-3 inches from bottom of bucket.
  • Bottle beer using spigot and bottle filler from kit. Cap bottles.
  • Store bottles in a cool place and allow to age for two weeks before drinking.

Brewed using the True Brew Maestro beer making kit.
* I’m not certain of grain measurements, once I figure it out I’ll edit the post to include the correct amounts.

10 thoughts on “Homebrew Recipes: Nut Brown Ale

  1. Thanks for the compliments on the label. I pretty much made it for taking that photo – since I’ll reuse the bottles and don’t want to be bothered with scraping off the labels each time.But I will slap a few on if I give someone a six-pack as a gift or something.

    I’ve never had much interest in The Green Fairy. It’s like the heroin of alcohol. 😆

    I’m pretty much a beer and wine kinda guy when it comes to types of drinks. And even that’s an 80/20 split respectively.

    Making our own is a pretty fun little hobby. I’m on my second batch of beer and we’re currently making our 4th and 5th batches of wine through a local place called “Wines by Design” where they walk you through it. Although, now that I’ve done it a few times, and had a successful batch of beer, I’m ready to take the training wheels off and do our next batch of wine on my own.

    Thanks for that link too. I may check out their kits for our next wine.

  2. I didn’t realize you’d started home-brewing, but what a cool hobby. It’s still technically illegal to do so in Alabama (though it’s totally legal to make your own moonshine), but we got Dan’s brother the supplies to start brewing in Mississippi last year and it seems like such a fun little hobby that we may have to take it up next.

    I am duly impressed with your labeled bottles and having a finished product and all! Wish we lived close enough to have a tasting, but next time we come up hopefully you’ll another batch brewed (though I’m actually allergic to nuts, so I’d be rooting for a non-nut variety). 🙂

    Anyway, all that to say way cool!

  3. I am interested more in the process of making “the green faerie” more than drinking it as I have fascination with herbs and macerations. If it came right down to it, I think I would be too chicken to actually put the stuff to my lips! 🙄

    We’ve not made wine or beer, but my dad made us some wine using the supplies from that link I gave you. It tastes REALLY good. I am hoping he sends us strawberry wine next ❗

    Cheers to your Bertou Brewery 😉

  4. heck, your name sounds like it was INTENDED to be a brewing company.

    maybe 130 years from now, some weird form of football will be brought to our descendants courtesy of “bertou family ale, a proud tradition since 2008”

  5. @Stem: Didn’t you know? It’s pretty much in my DNA!

    @Tim: Dude, I did call it a Nut Brown. *rimshot*

    @Amy: Next time you guys come to NY I’ll be sure to bring you some of whatever I have on hand. I’m sure by then I’ll have a decent inventory and variety.

    If anyone is interested in a clear view of the label. Here you go.

  6. (Shhh… don’t tell Amy or Mudpuppy!)

    I did them in Microsoft Publisher.

    And if you’re looking to do something similar in the future, here’s a tip. Print them on parchment paper and use a glue stick to apply. The parchment paper has a textured feel which is makes for a nicer gift than just a mailing label. It’ll also peel right off the bottle and a little warm water will take care of the rest. You won’t have to spend time scraping all that sticky mess from labels off before you can reuse the bottles.

Leave a comment